Stats in Your State
To better understand how car insurance rates in Arizona compare with its neighboring states, and how your rates compare with others in your state, check out the graphs and data listed below.
Auto Insurance Premiums
The average cost of car insurance in Arizona between 2000 and 2008 rose from $792 per year to $858. Across that time, Arizona’s car insurance rates were consistently higher than the national average by as much as $97 per year.
Traffic Fatalities over time
Between 2006 and 2010, Arizona traffic fatalities took a nose dive from 1,293 to 759, mirroring a pattern across the U.S. of lower traffic fatalities following stricter manufacturer safety standards and more driver education across the country.
Auto Repair Costs
Arizona car owners pay some of the highest repair costs in the country. In 2010, they forked over $421.49, an amount that exceeded the national average by more than $50. This gap narrowed considerably in 2011, but at $362.65, Arizona drivers still paid nearly $30 more for repairs than their nationwide counterparts.
Rules in Your State
Before you get behind the wheel in Arizona, you’ll want to consider the rules of the road governing your actions and their outcomes. Keeping fully insured and within the bounds of the law will keep you and your wallet on the right track.
Arizona Minimum Car Insurance Requirements
Liability auto insurance with the following limits:
- $15,000 of bodily injury to another person
- $30,000 of bodily injuries to all other persons
- $10,000 of injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident
Some drivers want to know, “Is Personal Injury Protection required in Arizona?”. The answer is no. Personal injury payments are not required by state law, but many drivers buy the additional coverage for their injuries in case of a serious crash.
Required Proof of Insurance In Arizona
You must carry in your vehicle an information card issued by your insurer with the following information:
- Name of Insurance Company
- Insurance Policy Number
- Effective Date/Expiration Date of Policy
- Accurate description of year, make/model of registered vehicle
- Name of Insured Driver
The Graduated License in Arizona
Licensing your new teen driver is the first step to keeping them safe on the road, so make sure your new driver is obeying the following learner’s permit laws and curfew regulations for teen drivers in Arizona.
Hardship License for Minors?
Learner’s Permit Age:
15 years, 6 months. New drivers must log at least 30 hours of practice, or otherwise take a driver education course prior to obtaining their license.
Restricted License Age:
16 years old. Teen drivers who have completed their learner’s permits requirements are allowed to get a restricted license after age 16. With a restricted license, they are only allowed one passenger while driving, and are not allowed to drive between 10:00 pm and 5:00 am. Teens can upgrade to a full license after 6 months, or if they reach age 18, whichever is sooner.
Full License (Unrestricted) Age:
16 years, 6 months
Arizona Insurance Legislation
Arizona State Legislature – Title 20: Insurance</p>
Title 20 of the Arizona State legal code outlines the guidelines for insurers and their trade, and regulates how they operate. To read more about specific insurance regulations, click on the link above.
Prohibited and Unfair Trade Practices
If you suspect your insurer is treating you unfairly, you should read through the prohibited trade practices listed in the link above. If you’re unsure, or if you see that your insurer has treated you unfairly, you should consult with an attorney.
DUI’s are serious offenses and carry hefty fine, jail sentences, and car insurance hikes even for first time offenders. Before you think about drinking and driving, consider the following consequences for first time DUI offenders in Arizona.
|Administrative license suspension 1st offense?||90 Days|
|Restore driving privileges during suspension?||Limited driving privileges may be restored after 30 days if the driver demonstrates special hardship.|
|Are ignition interlocks mandatory for first offenders for the following offenses?||Yes|
|Are ignition interlocks mandatory for repeat offenders for the following offenses?||yes|
|Fine for first offense?||Minimum $250, with additional $1000 in assessment fees for state prison and public safety funding|
|Jail sentence for first offense?||Minimum 10 days|
Representatives & Resources in Your State
Every consumer needs a little help now and then. The following Arizona resources and links will put you in touch with your local government and provide information on how to file a complaint or seek help with a claim.
Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT)
Mail Drop 555M
Motor Vehicle Division
PO Box 2100
Phoenix AZ 85001-2100
ADOT Motor Vehicles Division
The Motor Vehicles Division covers vehicle registration and rules of the road.
ADOT License Division
For licensing matters, contact the ADOT Licensing Division at the above link.
Arizona Department of Public Safety (ADPS)
2102 W Encanto Blvd
Phoenix, AZ 85009
ADPS Contact Information
ADPS DUI Laws
Use the above link to learn more about specific punishments and regulations for DUI offenders in Arizona.
Arizona Department of Insurance
Consumer Affairs Division
Arizona Department of Insurance
2910 N. 44th Street, Ste. 210
Phoenix, AZ 85018-7269
Consumer Complaint Resource
The Department of Insurance provides a resource for consumers to file complaints against insurers for difficult or underhanded claims practices.
Arizona Department of Insurance Consumer Guide to Auto Insurance
The Department of Insurance’s guide to auto insurance is a great resource for consumers to learn the basics of different types auto insurance in Arizona.
Arizona Teen Driver’s Guide to Auto Insurance
This guide to insuring your teen driver is a great starting point to learning more about teen auto insurance in Arizona.
2012 Premium Comparison and Complaint Ratios for Automobile Insurance
The Department of Insurance has compiled a premium and rate comparison guide for Arizona drivers, as well as complaint ratios for Arizona insurers.