Stats in Your State
To better understand car insurance in Arkansas, it helps to compare Arkansas car insurance rates with neighboring states and the U.S. average. You might find you’re paying too much for car insurance, or, instead, you’re getting a great deal. We've assembled the data that's essential for determining where it is you really stand.
Auto Insurance Premiums
Between 2000 and 2008 Arkansas ranked well below the U.S. in terms of car insurance premiums and was roughly $120 less per year through most of the 2000s.
Traffic Fatalities over time
Following a peak of 665 in 2006, traffic fatalities in Arkansas took a sharp decline in the next several years, lowering to 549 in 2011 and following a national trend of safer cars.
Auto Repair Costs
Relatively cheap labor and low car values across Arkansas have led to average repair costs that fall far below most of the country. In 2010, Arkansas car owners paid $334.35 for vehicle repairs, roughly $20 less than the national average. The gap narrowed slightly in 2011, but at $321.33, Arkansas drivers were still paying well below than most of their counterparts across the U.S.
Rules in Your State
The rules of the road are a necessary part of staying safe and legal – not to mention one of the few sure ways to keep your auto expenses down. Read below for essential rules for insurance, licensing, and DUI’s in Arkansas.
Minimum Requirements for Car Insurance in Arkansas
The minimum liability insurance limits are:
- $25,000 of bodily injury to another person
- $50,000 of bodily injuries to all other persons
- $25,000 of injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident
Required Proof of Insurance in Arkansas
You must carry a card issued by your insurer with the following information:
- Name, address, phone number, and the National Association of Insurance Commissioners’ code number for your Insurance Company
- Name and phone number of the issuing agent (if available)
- Insurance Policy Number
- Effective Date and Expiration Date of Policy
- Accurate description of the year, make, model and vehicle identification number of the insured vehicle
- Name and address of insured driver
- Designated excluded driver(s) (if anyone is excluded from coverage under the policy)
Arkansas Licensing Facts: The Graduated License in Arkansas
It’s no surprise that teen drivers are riskier than seasoned drivers, so the best thing a parent can do is to make sure they’re obeying the laws of licensing, learner’s permits, and teen driver curfews in Arkansas.
Hardship License for Minors?
Learner’s Permit Age:
14 years old. New drivers must hold their learner’s permit for at least 6 months prior to being able to apply for a restricted license, and must reach age 16 before they can be considered for the restricted license.
Restricted License Age:
16 years old.
Full License (Unrestricted) Age:
16 years, 6 months
Additional Resources for You
Arkansas Insurance Code: Chapter 89, Casualty Insurance:
Chapter 89 of the Arkansas Insurance Code sets forth the regulations for Casualty Insurance in Arkansas and determines how insurers must treat their customers.
Arkansas Insurance Department Rules:
The AID Final Rules determine how insurers must handle all aspects of their business and policies. Click the above link to learn more about how the industry is regulated.
You would lose your license for 6 months if you get caught drinking and driving, so the best and most obvious solution is a cab ride home, and not a night at a police precinct.
|Administrative license suspension 1st offense?||6 months|
|Restore driving privileges during suspension?||Limited driving privileges may be restored after 30 days if the driver demonstrates special hardship.|
|Are ignition interlocks mandatory for first offenders for the following offenses?||Yes|
|Are ignition interlocks mandatory for repeat offenders for the following offenses?||yes|
|Fine for first offense?||$150 license reinstatement fee|
|Jail sentence for first offense?||No|
Representatives & Resources in Your State
If you need help with an issue or just want to reach out to your local government, use the links below to learn more and get consumer advocacy assistance from your government’s departments.
Arkansas Insurance Department
1200 West Third Street
Little Rock, AR 72201-1904
800-282-9134 or 501-371-2600
Consumer Complaint Resource
For consumers who have been marginalized or mistreated by their insurer, they should file a complaint for unfair practices or mishandling of claims.
Insurance Department Consumer Brochures
The Insurance Department has published a number of useful brochures for consumers to learn more about how insurance works in Arkansas.
Arkansas Auto Insurance Rate Comparison Resource
Use the above link to compare different types of car insurance rates in Arkansas.
Arkansas Department of Motor Vehicles
1900 W 7th St, Ste 1100
Little Rock, AR 72201
The Department of Motor Vehicles handles licensing for drivers in Arkansas, as well as information for driver services.