Stats in Your State
Knowing what to expect from your car insurance rates can be easier by comparing average car insurance premiums in Connecticut with your own premiums. Furthermore, understanding the other factors affecting car insurance in the state will give readers a better appreciation for the cost of car insurance.
Auto Insurance Premiums
Connecticut’s position as a corridor between New York and Boston give it a heavy dose of traffic, which undoubtedly contributes to its higher than average car insurance premiums, which between 2000 and 2008 were regularly $120-$160 higher than the national average.
Traffic Fatalities over time
Connecticut traffic fatalities between 2005 and 2011 have been inconsistent year to year, with a spike in 2010 following a decline the previous year, bucking the national trend of declining traffic fatalities.
Auto Repair Costs
Connecticut’s relatively high cost of car insurance is matched by expensive repair costs compared to the rest of the country. In 2010, the average Connecticut driver paid $366.79 for repairs, which exceeded national costs by nearly $10. In 2011, this gap widened even further as Connecticut car owners paid $346.92 for vehicle maintenance, more than $13 higher than the U.S. average.
Rules in Your State
Understanding the rules of the road is your first step to staying safe and keeping your wallet and your driving record intact. Read on to refresh yourself on the state requirements for insurance, licensing, and DUI penalties in Connecticut.
Minimum Required Car Insurance in Connecticut
Liability coverage with the following limits:
- $20,000 of bodily injury to another person
- $40,000 of bodily injuries to all other persons in any one accident
- $10,000 of injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident
Uninsured/Underinsured motorist coverage with the following limits:
- $20,000 per person
- $40,000 per accident
Connecticut Licensing Facts: The Graduate License
Teen drivers pose enough of a risk as is, but keeping them legal on the road is a great first precaution when they’re learning to drive. Check through the rules below to make sure your teen is obeying curfew and driving laws for teens in Connecticut.
Hardship License for Minors?
Learner’s Permit Age:
16 years old. New drivers must hold a learner’s permit for 4 months before they can apply for a license, and must also log at least 40 hours of driving practice.
Restricted License Age:
16 year, 4 months. After a teen driver has graduated from learner’s permit to license, they are only allowed to drive under certain restrictions. These restrictions stipulate no passengers under the age of 20 for the first 6 months, as well as no driving between 11:00 am and 5:00 am until reaching the age of 18.
Full License (Unrestricted) Age:
18 years old.
Resources for Connecticut Citizens
Connecticut Insurance Regulations
Unfair Insurance Practices
Source: General Statutes of Connecticut, Title 38a, Chapter 704
The Connecticut legislature has outlined specific unfair practices which insurers may not use when settling claims. Read through them with the above link, and if you feel your rights have been violated, contact the Insurance Department to file a complaint against your insurer.
Property and Casualty Insurance Statutes
Source: General Statutes of Connecticut, Title 38a, Chapter 700
Chapter 700 of the Statutes of Connecticut sets forth specific regulations around property and casualty insurance, i.e. car insurance policies, and stipulates how insurers must do business in the state.
If you’re thinking about drinking and driving, you should probably be prepared to lose your license for 45 days and spend two nights in jail. Read through the following penalties set forth by the Connecticut government to motivate yourself to take a cab the next time you’re out on the town.
|Administrative license suspension 1st offense?||45 days|
|Restore driving privileges during suspension?||Limited driving privileges may be restored after 30 days if the driver demonstrates special hardship.|
|Are ignition interlocks mandatory for first offenders for the following offenses?||Yes|
|Are ignition interlocks mandatory for repeat offenders for the following offenses?||yes|
|Fine for first offense?||$500 - $1,000|
|Jail sentence for first offense?||Minimum 2 days, up to 6 months; OR offenders may choose the option of probation, license suspension of 6 months, and 100 hours of community service.|
Representatives & Resources in Your State
Use the following resources to file a complaint, learn more about claims practices, or reach out to your local government about insurance-related issues.
Connecticut Insurance Department
PO Box 816, Hartford
(860) 297-3800 or 1 (800) 203-3447
Contact Info Page
Consumer Complaint Resource
Consumers who feel their rights have been compromised should consider filing a complaint against their insurer to trigger the Insurance Department to look into the matter.
Auto Insurance Information
The Insurance Department has put together an overview of different types of car insurance in Connecticut. It’s a great primer for readers to refresh themselves on how car insurance works.