Stats in Your State
To learn how your auto insurance rates in Delaware compare with rates in nearby states, and with the national average, read through the charts below. You might be paying too much for car insurance, or you might be beating the rest; either way, knowing where you stand can make all the difference.
Auto Insurance Premiums
From 2000 to 2008, Delaware’s auto insurance premiums have consistently been between $120 and $200 higher than the national average.
Traffic Fatalities over time
Like the rest of the country, traffic fatalities in Delaware dropped between 2005 and 2011, reducing from 148 in 2006 to less than 100 in 2010.
Auto Repair Costs
Delaware automobile owners pay considerably less for car repairs than the rest of the United States. In 2010, the average driver in that state paid $343.62 for vehicle maintenance, roughly $12 lower than the national average. This gap widened even further the following year as the average U.S. driver's repair expenses exceeded those in Delaware by more than $17.
Rules in Your State
Knowing the rules of the road is key to avoiding penalties and fines – not to mention staying safe. Read through the list of state-specific rules we've collected to learn more about laws pertinent to insurance, licensing, and DUIs in Delaware.
Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Delaware
Liability insurance with the following limits:
- $15,000 of bodily injury to another person
- $30,000 of bodily injuries to all other persons
- $5,000 of injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident
Personal Injury Protection with the following limits:
- $15,000 of bodily injury coverage per driver and/or passenger(s) of insured vehicle
- $30,000 of bodily injuries per accident for driver and/or passenger(s) of insured vehicle
Required Proof of Insurance in Delaware
You must carry a card issued by your insurer with the following information:
- Name of the insurance company
- Insurance policy number
- Effective date and expiration date of the policy
- Accurate description of the year, make, model, and vehicle identification number of the registered vehicle(s)
- Name and address of the insured driver
The Graduated License in Delaware
According to the Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles, teen drivers pose a huge risk when learning to drive, so the least a parent can do is make sure they’re obeying the learner’s permit and curfew laws in order to stay legal on the road. The teen license laws for Delaware are listed below.
Hardship License for Minors?
Learner’s Permit Age:
16 years old. Teen drivers can receive their learner’s permits at age 16, and must log at least 50 practice hours, and must hold the permit for at least 6 months before they can apply for their license.
Restricted License Age:
16 years , 6 months. After a teen has graduated from their learner’s permit, they may only have a restricted license for the first six months before they can have a full license. The restricted license stipulates no driving from 10:00 pm to 6:00 am, and no more than one passenger.
Full License (Unrestricted) Age:
17 years old.
Useful Resources in Delaware
Prohibited Unfair Claim Settlement Practices:
Source: Delaware Regulations: Administrative Code, Title 18: Insurance, Section 900
Section 900 of the Delaware Code stipulates several unfair settlement practices that insurers cannot use when handling claims.
Unfair Practices in the Insurance Business
Source: Delaware Code, Title 18: Insurance, Chapter 23:
Chapter 23 of the Delaware Code sets forth unfair prohibited business practices such as unfair investment practices, misrepresentation of policy provisions and methods of advertising, among others.
Getting behind the wheel after you’ve been drinking is a serious risk, and knowing the consequences can be a great deterrent and reminder next time you find yourself intoxicated. The Delaware State Code and the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety stipulates the following:
|Administrative license suspension 1st offense?||3 months|
|Restore driving privileges during suspension?||No|
|Are ignition interlocks mandatory for first offenders for the following offenses?||High BAC offenders only|
|Are ignition interlocks mandatory for repeat offenders for the following offenses?||yes|
|Fine for first offense?||$500 to $1,500|
|Jail sentence for first offense?||Up to 1 year|
Representatives & Resources in Your State
Use the links and resources below to learn more about car insurance in Delaware, as well as to get help with claims or to contact your local government.
Delaware Department of Insurance
841 Silver Lake Blvd.
Dover, DE 19904
Contact Info Page
Consumer Complaint Resource
Use the link above to contact the Department of Insurance to file a formal complaint against an insurer.
Delaware Department of Insurance Consumer Guides
The Department of Insurance has produced a series of brochures and guides for consumers to learn more about different types of insurance in Delaware.
Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles
New Castle Division of Motor Vehicles
Airport and Churchmans Road
New Castle, Delaware 19720
Contact Info Page
The Department of Motor Vehicles provides licensing and driver services to Delaware drivers.