Stats in Your State
Over the years, Hawaii’s auto insurance premiums have risen significantly. Residents in Hawaii should not feel alone however, given that the U.S. as a whole is experiencing a rise in auto insurance premiums. That being said, Hawaii’s auto insurance premiums still remain higher than the national average. To learn more about this island’s premium rates as compared to the rest of the nation, refer to the graph below.
Auto Insurance Premiums
At first glance, Hawaii’s auto insurance premiums are significantly higher than the U.S. average, but they aren’t the highest in the nation. States like California, Connecticut, Delaware, and Florida carry higher insurance premiums than this island state. Around 2004, Hawaii’s auto insurance premiums nearly matched the U.S. average; however, in 2005 the U.S. rates dropped while Hawaii’s rates have continued to rise.
Traffic Fatalities over time
Compared to the rest of the nation, Hawaii has a relatively low traffic fatality rate, with 2011 only reporting 100 fatalities – the lowest amount since 1999. From 2000-2007, Hawaii experienced unusually high fatality rates, but since then the rates have dropped significantly. This favorable drop has contributed to lower insurance rates throughout Hawaii.
Auto Repair Costs
Repair costs in Hawaii are at a reasonable level in relation to the remaining forty-nine states. Not being especially high or especially low, Hawaii’s repairs, on average, fall into the upper to mid $300s. Poor weather conditions, high-elevation areas, year-round driving, and congested-traffic areas are prone to inspire higher repair costs, particularly in states like California, Colorado, and New Mexico.
Rules in Your State
Like every other state, Hawaii has its rules for operating a vehicle. To avoid getting in trouble with Hawaii law enforcement and encouraging higher insurance premiums, drivers should not engage in drinking and driving, speeding, reckless driving, texting and driving, and other illegal driving behaviors.
Hawaii Minimum Auto Insurance Requirements
Having auto insurance is required by law for all those who drive in Hawaii. Drivers must also carry their insurance information and driver’s license with them at all times when they’re operating a vehicle. Hawaii’s minimum auto insurance liability limits are as follows:
- $20,000 of bodily injury or death to another person in an accident.
- $40,000 of bodily injury to another person in an accident.
- $10,000 of injury to or destruction of property in an accident.
The Graduated License in Hawaii
Hardship License for Minors?
No. The state of Hawaii does not allow for hardship licenses. In 2006, Hawaii embraced the graduated licensing system, which requires teens to have a “provisional” driving status with many rules and regulations before they’re granted full driving privileges at 17 years of age.
Learner’s Permit Age: To apply for a learner’s permit, teens must be at least fifteen and a half years old. To attain an official permit, teens will need to have their U.S. birth certificate and original social security card. Drivers who weren’t born in the U.S. are required to provide additional documents that identify a legal presence.
Restricted License Age: At sixteen years old, teens are granted a restricted license, which features a host of restrictions. These restrictions include not being able to drive anyone under the age of 21 for the first six months or driving between the hours of 12 a.m. to 5 a.m.
Full License (Unrestricted) Age: After completing their permit requirements and instructional driving period, drivers are granted a full license at the age of 17.
|Administrative license suspension 1st offense?||90 days|
|Restore driving privileges during suspension?||Yes, individuals can restore their driving privileges in Hawaii after 30 days.|
|Are ignition interlocks mandatory for first offenders for the following offenses?||They are required for first-time offenders as well as repeat offenders.|
|Are ignition interlocks mandatory for repeat offenders for the following offenses?||yes|
|Fine for first offense?||Ranging from $150 to $1,000|
|Jail sentence for first offense?||There is no minimum jail sentence; it is up to the judge’s discretion|
Representatives & Resources in Your State
Whether looking up insurance laws or exploring facts about driving in Hawaii, drivers have an assortment of resources at their fingertips that explain state driving policies and procedures. Use these featured websites to find information on insurance and general driving inquiries.
Hawaii Department of Commerce & Consumer Affairs – Insurance
P.O. Box 3614
Honolulu, Hawaii 96811
Hawaii Department of Transportation
869 Punchbowl Street
Honolulu, HI 96813
Where to file a complaint regarding auto insurance insurers or policies