Stats in Your State
Auto insurance rates are affected by a number of factors, including a state’s average auto accidents, fatalities, traffic conditions, and more. Compared to most states, Idaho’s auto insurance rates are relatively reasonable, but it’s still important to make sure you’re receiving the best coverage possible. Researching and analyzing your state’s insurance premiums, regulations, and relevant statistics will help you understand whether or not you're investing in the right auto insurance policy. Use The Simple Dollar to discover the auto insurance statistics specific to Idaho.
Auto Insurance Premiums
The annual cost of insuring a vehicle in Idaho has risen from an average of $386 in 1991 to $562 in 2008, according to the U.S. Census Bureau. Idaho’s annual insurance premiums actually fair well, compared to other states like Pennsylvania, New York, and Louisiana.
Traffic Fatalities over time
From 1994 to 2007, traffic fatalities have fluctuated between rising and falling; however, starting in 2008, traffic fatalities have been steadily falling both in Idaho and across the U.S. This decrease has to do with marketing campaigns and driving features that advocate safe practices in driving. In fact, traffic fatalities in Idaho in 1994 totaled 250, and that number fell to 167 in 2011.
Auto Repair Costs
The average cost of repairing a car, including parts and labor, is relatively reasonable in Idaho compared to the rest of the U.S. From 2011 to 2012, the state actually experienced a drop in the average costs of repairs, falling from $368.17 to $335.08.
Rules in Your State
When it comes to safe driving, individuals shouldn’t engage in drinking and driving, texting and driving, speeding, and other reckless practices. Avoiding speeding tickets, automobile accidents, and other behaviors that lead to insurance claims will prevent you from paying an absurd amount on your premiums. Read on to learn the specifics of Idaho’s licensing laws.
Idaho Insurance Requirements
Liability coverage minimum limits:
- $25,000 of bodily injury to another person
- $50,000 of bodily injuries to two or more people in an accident
- $15,000 of damage or destruction of property of others in any one accident
According to Section 49-117(18), Idaho Code, drivers in Idaho must carry proof of liability insurance with them at all times while operating a vehicle.
Idaho Licensing Facts for Teen Drivers: The Graduated Driver License
Hardship License for Minors?
Learner’s Permit Age:
At 14.5 years old, teenagers are allowed to obtain their learner’s permit.
Restricted License Age:
At 15 years old, teenagers are allowed to obtained their restricted licenses.
Full License (Unrestricted) Age:
A full license is granted at 16 years old.
In Idaho, drivers must hold their permit for six months before they are granted a restricted license. Drivers younger than 17 with an instruction permit are required to enroll in an accredited driver training program before they receive their license. Drivers under the age of 16 are only allowed to drive during the day, unless they are accompanied by a driver over the age of 21 at night. For the first six months after their drivers license is obtained, a teen driver is only able to carry one non-family member under age 17 in their vehicle.
|Administrative license suspension 1st offense?||90 days|
|Restore driving privileges during suspension?||After 30 days|
|Are ignition interlocks mandatory for first offenders for the following offenses?||No|
|Are ignition interlocks mandatory for repeat offenders for the following offenses?||yes|
|Fine for first offense?||Yes. Maximum fine is $1,000 plus court costs|
|Jail sentence for first offense?||Minimum of 2 days and a maximum of 6 months, depending on the case|
Representatives & Resources in Your State
Insurance is a topic of concern to many state agencies. Should you ever wish to file a complaint against an insurer or find out the rules encompassing Idaho auto insurance, there are an assortment of resources available to you. Featured here are relevant links, contacts, and resources regarding auto insurance in Idaho.
Idaho Transportation Department
3311 W. State Street
P.O. Box 7129
Boise, ID 83707-1129
Idaho Department of Insurance
700 West State Street
P.O. Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720-0043
Idaho’s Department of Insurance Online Complaint Service
Idaho’s Department of Insurance Advice for How to Shop for Auto Insurance