Illinois Car Insurance

Wide open stretches of prairie punctuated by the Chicago skyline make for some easy driving, which would explain why Illinois drivers enjoy some of the lowest insurance premiums across the country. While some people know just how to comb their way all over Illinois, The Simple Dollar shows readers how to navigate through the world of auto insurance. Below are essential facts, stats, regulations and resources to help those in the Prairie State get a handle on their policy.

 

 

 

Enter Your Zip Code:

Stats in Your State

How does the Land of Lincoln stack up against the rest of the country in terms of insurance premiums? To learn more about Illinois insurance rates compared to the U.S. average, as well as other statistics across the state, check out the graphs below.

Auto Insurance Premiums

Illinois drivers enjoy premiums that are consistently lower than the national average. Whether it’s relatively predictable weather, a flat landscape, or the absence of major natural disasters, the driving climate and the insurance premium forecast both call for steady savings.

Traffic Fatalities over time

Illinois traffic fatalities have steadily decreased between 2005 and 2009, staying steady at roughly 800 from 2009 to 2011.

Auto Repair Costs

Automobile owners in Illinois, a state characterized by hazardous winter driving conditions, paid $361.56 for car repairs in 2010, roughly $5 higher than the average U.S. driver. However, these two figures were much closer in 2011; Illinois residents paid $335.42 in repair costs that year, only higher than the national average by roughly $1.50.

Rules in Your State

Understanding your state’s regulations is key to staying safe on the road. The Simple Dollar has compiled and provided the essential info regarding DUI restrictions, new driver regulations, along with a link to the 2012 Illinois Rules of the Road.

Illinois Auto Insurance Minimum Requirements

Auto insurance minimum liability limits:
Illinois Statute 625 ILCS 5/7-203

  • $20,000 of bodily injury to another person
  • $40,000 of bodily injuries to all other persons in any one accident
  • $15,000 of destruction of property of others in any one accident

Illinois Required Proof of Insurance

When driving, you must have a card issued by your insurer with the following information:

  • Name of insurance company
  • Insurance policy number
  • Effective date and expiration date of the policy
  • Accurate description of year, make, model and vehicle identification number of the registered vehicle(s)
  • Name and address of the insured driver

Illinois Licensing, Vehicle, and Traffic Laws

Illinois 2013 Rules of the Road
In 2013 Secretary of State Jesse White produced a pamphlet for Illinois drivers to better understand the rules of the road, the risks involved in getting behind the wheel, and safe driving habits. The link above provides that pamphlet in a PDF form.

Illinois Licensing Facts for Teen Drivers: Graduated Driver License

Hardship License for Minors?
No.

Learner’s Permit Age:
15 years.

If under 18, applicants must complete 50 hours of driving, complete driver’s education, show proof of enrollment in school and hold permit for nine months before one can apply for license. If convicted of a moving violation during permit phase, the 9-month waiting period restarts.

Restricted License Age:
16 years.

Anyone under 18 cannot drive between the hours of 10:00 p.m. and 6:00 a.m. Monday – Thursday or 11:00 p.m. and 6:00 a.m. Friday – Saturday. If the teenage driver is coming from a job, school activity, or a family oriented place, this curfew is extended with proof of being there until the time of the event being over.

Full License (Unrestricted) Age:
18 years.

DUI/DWI Laws:

Like other states, Illinois has strict drinking and driving laws. Consider the dangers and penalties associated with driving after having drinks.

Administrative license suspension 1st offense? 1 year; 2 years if driver is under 21 years old
Restore driving privileges during suspension? Restricted driving privileges considered after 30 days if hardship is demonstrated.
Are ignition interlocks mandatory for first offenders for the following offenses? All first offenders.
Are ignition interlocks mandatory for repeat offenders for the following offenses? yes
Fine for first offense? $600 to $1000
Jail sentence for first offense? 5 days to 1 year

Representatives & Resources in Your State

To get involved in your local government, learn more about auto insurance, or just to check out your resources in case you need to file a complaint against your insurer, read through the following resources for more information and guidance.

Illinois Department of Insurance
320 W Washington St
Springfield, IL ‎
(217) 782-4515 ‎
Get Directions

Secretary of State
213 State Capitol
Springfield, IL 62756
(217) 785-3000 (outside Illinois)
(800) 252-8980 (toll free in Illinois)
Get Directions

Consumer Information
Consumer Fact Sheet
The consumer information fact sheet is a general resource for data, statistics, information, definitions, lists, and other basic details around insurance in the state of Illinois. The guide covers auto, home, health, and life insurance, as well as disasters.