Stats in Your State
The ability to recognize a stellar insurance policy is easier once Indiana drivers can see how their state’s driving records and premiums compare to the national average. That said, to get a better feel for how Indiana ranks in the nation in terms of insurance premiums, traffic fatalities, and auto repair costs check out the graphs and charts below:
Auto Insurance Premiums
Although Indiana insurance premiums have increased 29% since 1992, Hoosiers still pay about $200 less than the national average.
Traffic Fatalities over time
Indiana may have accounted for 750 of the 32,367 traffic fatalities that occurred in the U.S. in 2011, but since reaching its highest traffic fatality rate in 1999 the number of auto-related deaths in Indiana steadily continue to decline each year.
Auto Repair Costs
Indiana has been named one of the 10 states with the lowest car-repair costs for two consecutive years. Indiana had an average car repair cost of $283.95 in 2011. Bordering midwest states that also have low repair costs include Wisconsin and Iowa.
Rules in Your State
Drivers who do not understand the rules of the road in their state can potentially put themselves at great risk of losing their license, facing jail time, or, at the worst, hurting or killing another driver or pedestrian. So that drivers are fully aware of rules, regulations, and consequences, The Simple Dollar has conveniently put together a list of information drivers in Indiana should know before shopping around for auto insurance.
Car Insurance Rules in Indiana
Liability auto insurance minimum requirements:
- $25,000 coverage for bodily injury to another person
- $50,000 coverage for bodily injuries to all other persons
- $10,000 coverage for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident
Indiana drivers must show proof of insurance if involved in any of the following situations:
- A traffic accident
- Receives a traffic ticket within one year of receiving two other traffic citations
- Commits a serious traffic violation, such as a misdemeanor or felony
- Commits a traffic violation after receiving a license suspension for failure to show proof of financial liability
Indiana Graduated License: Teen Drivers
Hardship License for Minors?
Learner’s Permit Age:
15-years-old and must be enrolled in an approved driver education program.
Restricted License Age:
16-years-old and six months and must have held an Indiana’s learner’s permit for six months. Those who did not enroll in an approved driver education program must be 16-years-old and nine months and must prove supervised driving hours were completed. In addition, they must also pass a knowledge exam, a driving test, and a vision screening.
Full License (Unrestricted) Age:
At least 18-years-old.
|Administrative license suspension 1st offense?||180 Days|
|Restore driving privileges during suspension?||After 30 days if proof of hardship is demonstrated.|
|Are ignition interlocks mandatory for first offenders for the following offenses?||No|
|Are ignition interlocks mandatory for repeat offenders for the following offenses?||no|
|Fine for first offense?||$500 to $5,000|
|Jail sentence for first offense?||Up to One Year|
Representatives & Resources in Your State
Even with the convenient facts and figures The Simple Dollar has provided, some of your questions may still go unanswered. Below we have featured a list of important agencies and resources in your state that can help answer any additional questions you may have about highway rules, regulations, and insurance. Some of these agencies can also provide assistance if a complaint against your insurance provider needs to be filed.