Stats in Your State
Every state has its own insurance regulations and competing premiums. The statistics and charts below help readers compare Kansas’ premiums to neighboring states. It is also measured against the average for the United States as a whole.
Auto Insurance Premiums
Kansas state premiums have been consistently lower than the national average. The largest gap occurred in 2005, when the average for auto insurance premiums in Kansas was $239 lower than that of the United States average. Lower premiums may be the result of flatter terrain and uncrowded roads. Insurance companies perceive a lower risk for relatively safe driving conditions.
Traffic Fatalities over time
Drivers in Kansas seem to be making continued efforts to keep their roads safe for drivers. Automobile fatalities in Kansas have steadily decreased since 1999, with periodic surges in activity in 2002, 2006, and 2010. Deaths from collisions were at their highest in 1999, with 540 fatalities. In 2008, Kansas city drivers were safer drivers, with a record low of 384 fatalities.
Auto Repair Costs
In 2010, average auto and labor costs in the state of Kansas were essentially on par with the national average. However, they began to fall slightly below the average in 2011. The long stretches of even roads and homogenous landscape make for fewer car collisions and less need for vehicle repairs.
Rules in Your State
Driving in a state without first being briefed on its driving laws puts you at risk, as you wouldn’t know the repercussions for driving above the alcoholic limit, the details of new driver regulations, or how your insurance coverage applies. Luckily, the Simple Dollar has compiled the data for its readers so they may access Kansas’ driving rules all in one place.
Kansas Auto Insurance Minimum Requirements
Liability auto insurance minimum requirements:
- $25,000/person for bodily injury
- $50,000/accident for bodily injury
- $10,000/accident for property damage
Kansas Required Proof of Insurance
Motor vehicle liability insurance coverage is required for all drivers in Kansas and must cover each of their vehicles, unless:
- The vehicle is included under an approved self-insurance plan
- The vehicle is used for driver training purposes (in which case coverage would be provided by the appropriate training organization)
- The vehicle is included under self-insurance coverage by the state in which the vehicle was registered
Kansas Licensing Facts for Teen Drivers: The Graduated Driver License
Hardship License for Minors?
Learner’s Permit Age:
14 years. Kansas drivers are able to get their learner’s permit as early as age 14. In order to get their permit, they are required to have their vision tested and complete a written test administered by their driver education program. They must also have parental consent prior to getting their permit. An adult must be present with them in the front seat any time they get behind the wheel and the permit must be held for the duration of one year.
Restricted License Age:
15 years. The student still needs parental consent and must take a driver education program. They may drive to or from work or school without an adult and anywhere else with an adult in the front seat. They are not allowed to transport any minors aside from siblings. After the driver turns 16, they are given a less restricted license in which they are able to drive anywhere alone within a curfew of 5 a.m. to 9 p.m.
Full License (Unrestricted) Age:
17 years. By age 17, teens may drive without restriction, provided they provide proof of identity and pass driving, written, and vision tests.
|Administrative license suspension 1st offense?||30 days|
|Restore driving privileges during suspension?||No|
|Are ignition interlocks mandatory for first offenders for the following offenses?||All offenders|
|Are ignition interlocks mandatory for repeat offenders for the following offenses?||yes|
|Fine for first offense?||$500-$1,000|
|Jail sentence for first offense?||48 hrs - 6 mos or 100 hrs of community service in place of jail|
Representatives & Resources in Your State
If you’re still unclear about driving laws and statistics in Kansas, there are a wide variety of resources at your fingertips. Local government agencies, the DMV, and other departments within the state of Kansas may be contacted directly. The following links may be of use if you wish to file a complaint or gather information about driving, insurance, or transportation.
Kansas Department of Revenue – Motor Vehicles Division
This is a useful source for locating vehicle title and registration forms.