Stats in Your State
To avoid paying higher premiums than they should, Kentucky consumers can analyze some key data related to car insurance trends over time compared with the national average. Compared with neighboring states, the statistics for Kentuckians look relatively appealing.
Auto Insurance Premiums
Automobile insurance premiums in Kentucky coasted well below the national average between 2000 and 2008, but have tended to rise and fall during the same years. In 2004, auto insurance premiums in Kentucky averaged a record high of $758.
Traffic Fatalities over time
Automobile fatalities in Kentucky made a steep climb between the years of 1999 and 2005, peaking at 985 deaths. However, in consecutive years, fatalities have continued to drop, reaching as few as 721 in 2011.
Auto Repair Costs
Kentucky auto repair costs between 2010 and 2011 were generally level with the national average. In 2010, Kentucky averaged slightly above at around $350 for parts and labor compared to the United States average of $349. In 2011, Kentucky auto repairs fell below the United States average, but only by about $20.
Rules in Your State
Abiding by common traffic laws is important regardless of the state, and the major laws are more or less the same across the board. However, Kentucky has some state-specific laws relating to alcohol consumption paired with driving, car insurance, and licensing. Continue reading to determine driving regulations pertinent to the state of Kentucky.
Kentucky Licensing Facts
Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Kentucky
Liability insurance must cover the following at minimum:
- $25,000 of bodily injury liability per person in an accident
- $50,000 for all bodily injuries per accident
- $10,000 of property damage liability per accident
- Required Proof of Insurance in Kentucky
Drivers must have an insurance card issued by their insurer with the following information any time they get behind the wheel:
- The name of the insured
- The name of the insurance company providing coverage
- The effective date and expiration date of coverage
- The policy number
- The type of policy
- All included vehicles within the policy
Kentucky Licensing Facts for Teen Drivers: The Graduated Driver License
Teen drivers have their own rules and regulations when it comes to hitting the open road. Obtaining an unrestricted driver’s license in any state typically consists of a series of permits and driving education courses. The teen driving laws in the state of Kentucky are outlined below.
Hardship License for Minors? No
Learner’s Permit Age: 16 years
Restricted License Age: 16 years, 6 months
Full License (Unrestricted) Age: 17 years
There are serious consequences to drinking and driving. Even if you feel confident you can get behind the wheel without endangering yourself or others, you will face legal repercussions if you get pulled over while intoxicated. Kentucky has its own DUI and DWI laws, as demonstrated below. Read more at: Insurance Institute for Highway Safety and Kentucky Transportation Cabinet
|Administrative license suspension 1st offense?||No|
|Restore driving privileges during suspension?||Not applicable|
|Are ignition interlocks mandatory for first offenders for the following offenses?||No|
|Are ignition interlocks mandatory for repeat offenders for the following offenses?||yes|
|Fine for first offense?||$200-$500|
|Jail sentence for first offense?||Yes; 2-30 days|
Representatives & Resources in Your State
There is a wealth of information about driving in Kentucky, car insurance, and making a claim. The Simple Dollar may not cover every detail, so if you still have questions concerning driving or car insurance in Kentucky, the following resources should steer you in the appropriate direction.
Consumer Complaint Resource
The Kentucky Department of Insurance also has a specific branch on their site where consumers can issue a complaint concerning their insurance policy. The site may also be used to report insurance fraud.
A Parent’s Guide to Teen Driving
The Kentucky Department of Insurance published a guide to teen driving information for the state. Useful for parents, the guide highlights some key statistics about fledgling drivers.
Kentucky Driver Manual
The Kentucky State Police offer a basic guide to driving in Kentucky, with information on obtaining a license, driving laws, and state police contacts in the event of an emergency.