Stats in Your State
Louisiana drivers never tire of the sight of the state's dramatic natural scenery as well as its still- standing historic homes, which include everything from antebellum plantations to slave's quarters. Below we review statistics related to Louisiana's traffic fatalities and car repair costs, as well as state-specific rules regarding auto insurance, in order to provide an explanation for the costs of auto insurance premiums and hopefully make the experience of driving back in time even more of a pleasure.
Auto Insurance Premiums
Poor roads and a high rate of natural disaster damage are two contributing factors to Louisiana's auto insurance rates, which remain the highest in the nation. In March 2013, the insurance industry website Insure.com reported the average annual Louisiana auto insurance rate at $2,699 compared to the U.S. national average of just over $1,500. Litigation also contributes to the state's high rate, as Louisiana drivers who get into an accident are more likely to hire an attorney when filing a claim with their insurance company.
Traffic Fatalities over time
Interestingly, and thankfully, the number of traffic fatalities in the state of Louisiana has dropped steadily from 993 in 2007 to 675 in 2011. The national numbers for fatalities have dropped as well, from 37,435 in 2007 to 29,757 in 2011. Safer vehicles, stronger laws, and driver education programs are all factors contributing to this significant decrease in automobile fatalities.
Auto Repair Costs
Louisiana drivers paid just under the national average for car repairs in 2011. According to CarMD.com, Louisiana car repair costs averaged $306.74 while the national average was $333.93. No winter weather or snow and a nationwide drop in labor costs due to industry contraction may partially explain the relatively low cost of auto repairs Louisiana and other states with similar climates.
Rules in Your State
Before you get behind the wheel, you’ll need to familiarize yourself with some basic rules and regulations. In addition to minimum insurance requirements for Louisiana drivers, the basics of DUI offenses are listed in the table below.
Louisiana Minimum Auto Insurance Requirements
Liability coverage minimum limits:
- $15,000 of bodily injury liability maximum for one person injured in an accident.
- $30,000 of bodily injury liability maximum for all injuries in one accident.
- $25,000 of property damage liability maximum for one accident.
Louisiana Proof of Insurance Requirements
Acceptable forms of proof of insurance are an insurance card or binder, I.D. card issued by the insurance company, a declaration page, or a written statement from the insurance company.
Louisiana drivers can show proof of insurance electronically. However, a court or Office of Motor Vehicle official may require a paper proof of insurance card to be produced.
Proof of insurance must to include:
- Name of the policy holder’s insurance company
- Name of the policy holder
- Make, model, and year of the vehicle covered
- Vehicle’s VIN number
- Dates of coverage
The Graduated License: Louisiana Licensing Facts for Teen Drivers
Learner’s Permit Age:: 15. Teens with a restricted license may practice driving with a licensed driver at least 21 years of age or a sibling at least 18 years of age sitting in the front seat. Teens must complete at least 50 hours (including 15 hours at night) of practice driving.
Intermediate License Age: : 16. Teens with an intermediate license may not drive between 11 p.m. and 5 a.m. unless accompanied by a licensed adult at least 21 years of age or a sibling at least 18 years of age.
Full License (Unrestricted) Age : 17
Please note that state laws are subject to change and, depending on the jurisdiction within a state, interpretation and application. For more information about Louisiana DUI laws, drivers are advised to consult with a local attorney.
|Administrative license suspension 1st offense?||90 days|
|Restore driving privileges during suspension?||After 30 days. Drivers usually must demonstrate special hardship to justify restoring privileges during suspension, and then privileges often are restricted.|
|Are ignition interlocks mandatory for first offenders for the following offenses?||Yes. All offenders.|
|Are ignition interlocks mandatory for repeat offenders for the following offenses?||yes|
|Fine for first offense?||$1,000|
|Jail sentence for first offense?||2 Days to 6 Months|
Representatives & Resources in Your State
Louisiana drivers who need to file a complaints claim against an insurer can contact the Louisiana Department of Insurance for assistance. For drivers license renewal, vehicle registration, and license plates, drivers should contact the Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles.
Louisiana Department of Insurance
1702 N. 3rd Street
Baton Rouge, LA 70802