Stats in Your State
The Simple Dollar has gathered statistics related to Maine's traffic fatalities and car repair costs, as well as state-specific rules for teenagers to obtain a driver's license. We also provide Maine's minimum auto insurance and proof of insurance requirements, as well as the basics of the state's DUI/DWI laws. These driving-related stats can help you compare and select an auto insurance policy best suited to your driving needs.
Auto Insurance Premiums
In March 2013, the insurance industry website Insure.com reported the average annual auto insurance rate in Maine at $934, well below the U.S. national average of $1,510, making Maine the least expensive state for auto insurance. Along with the natural speed reduction of its forested landscape, Maine’s three-step graduated licensing program and tight restrictions on teen drivers has resulted in fewer auto accidents and lower overall insurance rates.
Traffic Fatalities over time
The number of traffic fatalities in the state of Maine declined from 188 in 2006 to 136 in 2011, helping reduce auto insurance premiums. Safer vehicles, strong laws, and driver education programs are all factors that contributed to the decrease. Unfortunately, the number of traffic fatalities in Maine increased to 164 in 2012, due to what officials describe as “preventable accidents.” Drivers in almost half of these 2012 crashes were not wearing a seatbelt.
Auto Repair Costs
Maine drivers paid well below the national average for vehicle repairs in 2011, tying with New Hampshire as the country’s most affordable state for auto repair. According to CarMD.com, the average cost for car repairs in Maine was only $289.56, while the national average was $333.93. Maine drivers also paid the least for replacement parts, with an average of only $175.91.
Rules in Your State
Below we’ve gathered some helpful information on the minimum insurance requirements for Maine drivers, the basics of DUI offenses, and other rules and regulations regarding licensing.
Maine Minimum Auto Insurance Requirements
- $50,000 of bodily injury liability maximum for one person injured in an accident.
- $100,000 of bodily injury liability maximum for all injuries in one accident.
- $25,000 of property damage liability maximum for one accident.
Maine Proof of Insurance Requirements
Maine drivers must notify the state when they obtain coverage; Maine does not have any direct-reporting system in place to notify the Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV). Acceptable proof of insurance includes an insurance card, a declaration page or letter from your insurance company or agent, an insurance binder, or a summary document of the insurance policy.
Proof of insurance must include:
- The amount of insurance (state minimum liability requirements)
- The type of insurance coverage
- The effective and expiration dates
- The policy number
- Your name
- Your vehicle’s make, model, year, license plate numbers, and VIN
Maine Licensing Facts for Teen Drivers: The Graduated License
According to the Maine government, Teens at least 15 years of age who have completed an approved driver education course and vision screening are eligible to obtain a driver’s permit or license. Maine residents who are 18 years of age or older are not required to complete a driver education course.
Maine residents under 21 years of age must hold a driver’s permit for at least six months and complete a minimum of 35 hours of driving accompanied by a parent, stepparent, guardian, or spouse before applying for a road test to obtain a license.
For the first 180 days after obtaining a license, drivers under the age of 18 cannot carry passengers other than immediate family members unless accompanied by a driver who has held a license for at least two years.
It is illegal for drivers 18 years of age and younger to drive while using a cell phone or drive between midnight and 5 a.m. For the first two years, newly licensed drivers under the age of 21 are under provisional status, and can have their license suspended without a hearing if convicted of a moving violation.
|Administrative license suspension 1st offense?||90 days|
|Restore driving privileges during suspension?||Yes|
|Are ignition interlocks mandatory for first offenders for the following offenses?||No|
|Are ignition interlocks mandatory for repeat offenders for the following offenses?||no|
|Fine for first offense?||$500|
|Jail sentence for first offense?||No mandatory jail sentence if driver did not have a blood alcohol level of .15% or greater, was exceeding 30 or more mph over the speed limit, attempted to elude the police, or a passenger under 21 years of age in the vehicle at the time.|
Representatives & Resources in Your State
Maine drivers who need to file a complaints against an insurer can contact the Bureau of Insurance for assistance. For drivers license renewal, vehicle registration, and license plates, drivers should contact the Department of Transportation of the Bureau of Motor Vehicles.
The Bureau of Insurance Department of Professional & Financial Regulation
34 State House Station
Augusta, Maine 04333
Phone: (207) 624-8475
Maine Department of the Secretary of State — Bureau of Motor Vehicles
29 State House Station
Augusta, Maine 04333-0029
Phone: (207) 624-9000