Maryland Car Insurance

Known as the Old Line State, Maryland is home to more than 5.8 million residents. The largest city in the state is Baltimore, but many residents commute back and forth from Washington, D.C., keeping Maryland’s roadways busy on a daily basis. As an important overview for Maryland drivers, The Simple Dollar has created this guide with statistics, rules, regulations, and essential facts for drivers across the state. Readers will also find a list of resources for further research.

 

 

 

Enter Your Zip Code:

Stats in Your State

On average, car insurance premiums run quite a bit higher in Maryland than they do nationally. This is influenced by a number of factors such as the cost of living, number of cars on the road, accident rates, required coverage, and the cost of auto repairs in the region. Reviewing these important statistics for your state will help you better understand insurance rates and become a more informed driver.

Auto Insurance Premiums

Over the years, the cost of auto insurance premiums for Maryland residents has continued to outpace national figures. In 2008, the average car insurance premium in the U.S. was $789 a year for one insured vehicle. In Maryland, this figure was significantly higher at a rate of $922 for the year.

Traffic Fatalities over time

In the last decade, the number of automobile fatalities in the state has decreased. In 2011, this figure dropped to 485, a low for the decade, after reaching 652 in 2002. This decline likely helped level out the upward trend in insurance premiums during this time.

Auto Repair Costs

As of 2011, the average car repair cost in Maryland for parts and labor was $347.64. This ranked the state 12th highest in the nation, slightly above the national average. In 2010, Maryland ranked 20th highest in the country, with an average repair cost of $358.45.

Rules in Your State

Whether you are a recent transplant to Maryland, a new driver, or just looking to improve your knowledge, it is important to understand the car insurance requirements, rules of the road, and other laws, such as repercussions for DUI offenses, in your state.

Maryland Minimum Auto Insurance Requirements

Liability coverage requirements:

  • $30,000 for bodily injury per person
  • $60,000 for bodily injury for two or more people
  • $15,000 for property damage

Maryland Required Proof of Insurance

In case of an accident, or if requested by a law enforcement officer, drivers will need to present an insurance ID card with the following information:

  • The name, address, and contact information for the insurance company.
  • The name of the primary insured driver, and any additional drivers.
  • The vehicle information, including the year, make, model and vehicle identification number.
  • The policy number and effective/expiration dates.

Maryland Licensing Facts for Teen Drivers: The Graduated Driver License

Learner’s Permit Age:: 15 years and 9 months. If under 16, must show a completed Learner’s Permit School Attendance Certification form and pass the vision and knowledge tests. Parent’s must co-sign for applicants under 18. Permit holders must be accompanied by a supervising driver who is at least 21 and has had their license for a minimum of three years.

Provisional License Age:: 16 years and 6 months. Drivers must have had their learner’s permit for at least 9 months and must submit a Practice Skills Log documenting their driving experience. They can only drive without a supervising driver from 5 a.m. to midnight.

Full License (Unrestricted) Age:: 18 years.

DUI/DWI Laws:

Administrative license suspension 1st offense? 45 days
Restore driving privileges during suspension? Yes, but must demonstrate special hardship.
Are ignition interlocks mandatory for first offenders for the following offenses? High-BAC offenders only.
Are ignition interlocks mandatory for repeat offenders for the following offenses? yes
Fine for first offense? $500 to $3,000
Jail sentence for first offense? Maximum of one to three years.

Representatives & Resources in Your State

If you would like more information about applying for a driver’s license, rules of the road, requirements for license renewal, or mandatory insurance coverage, the Department of Transportation’s Motor Vehicle Administration is an excellent resource. If you need to file a complaint with the Maryland Insurance Administration, below is the contact information.

Maryland Department of Transportation, Motor Vehicle Administration
6601 Ritchie Highway, N.E.
Glen Burnie, MD 21062
Get Directions

Maryland Insurance Administration
200 St. Paul Place
Suite 2700
Baltimore, MD 21202
Get Directions
410-468-2000
Toll free: 1-800-492-6116
File a complaint with the Maryland Insurance Administration here.