Stats in Your State
Drivers in Minnesota might not realize how their auto insurance premiums compare to the rest of the U.S., or the variables that affect rates across the state. We’ve visualized the necessary data to give readers a better view of what drives the auto insurance market in Minnesota.
Auto Insurance Premiums
Through the early half of the past decade, U.S. and Minnesota auto insurance premiums rose through 2003 and 2004 before dropping off in the latter part of the decade. Minnesota’s rates, however, dropped earlier and sharper than the U.S. average, resulting in 2008 premiums ($698 per year) that nearly matched the numbers from eight years earlier ($696 per year).
Traffic Fatalities over time
Much like the rest of the country, Minnesota traffic fatalities dropped by more than one-third from 2003 (655 deaths) to 2011 (368 deaths), due in large part to stricter safety standards and more driver awareness regarding unsafe driving habits.
Auto Repair Costs
Minnesota’s drivers enjoyed cheaper than average car repair costs in both 2010 and 2011, indicating a portion of the population went without fixing their car and some drivers likely performed their own repairs (this is common in areas with a relatively large number of farms).
Rules in Your State
Keeping on top of the rules of the road and the regulations for insurance can be a daunting task for some drivers, so we’ve compiled the essential rules and resources for drivers to stay ahead of the curve. Read on to learn more about car insurance requirements, licensing rules, and drunk driving laws for Minnesota.
Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Minnesota
Liability coverage with the following limits:
- $30,000 of bodily injury to another person
- $60,000 of bodily injuries to all other persons
- $10,000 of injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident
Minnesota also requires $40,000 of Personal Injury Protection for No-Fault coverage:
- $20,000 for medical expenses
- $20,000 for non-medical expenses such as lost wages
Additionally, Minnesota requires uninsured and underinsured coverage in the following amounts:
- $25,000 for injuries to one person
- $50,000 for injuries to two or more people
Required Proof of Insurance for Minnesota Drivers
- Name of your insurance company
- Dates of coverage
- Amount of liability coverage you possess.
- Policy number
- VIN number of the vehicles covered
- Make and model of covered vehicles
Minnesota Licensing Facts for Teen Drivers
Hardship License for Minors? Yes, but for farm work only. It is called a Restricted Farm Work License.
Learner’s Permit Age: 15 years. Must complete 30 hours of classroom instruction and enroll in a behind-the-wheel instruction course. May only drive with a parent, guardian, or other passenger over the age of 21.
Restricted License Age: 16 years. Must hold permit for at least 6 months and turn age 18 before applying for unrestricted license.
Full License (Unrestricted) Age: 18 years.
The Department of Insurance has set forth specific claims practices to be used by insurers in auto insurance claims. Readers can find the details at the link above.
The above link outlines the benefits afforded to victims of motor vehicle and motorcycle accidents in Minnesota.
|Administrative license suspension 1st offense?||Above .08 BAC: 90-day suspension. Above .16 BAC: 1-year suspension OR 1-year of ignition interlock use and restricted license|
|Restore driving privileges during suspension?||If driver chooses interlock option instead of suspension, depending on circumstances.|
|Are ignition interlocks mandatory for first offenders for the following offenses?||High BAC offenders only|
|Are ignition interlocks mandatory for repeat offenders for the following offenses?||yes|
|Fine for first offense?||BAC above 0.08: $1,000 fine; BAC above 0.20: $3,000 fine|
|Jail sentence for first offense?||90 days in jail and/OR above-listed fine|
Representatives & Resources in Your State
Below readers will find the resources in their state to help them learn more about insurance and regulations in Minnesota. Read on to seek consumer advocacy or guidance on particular insurance issues. Other government resources can assist with licensing and registration concerns, as well as information about road safety.
Minnesota Department of Commerce: Insurance Division
Minnesota Department of Commerce
85 7th Place East, Suite 500
St. Paul, MN 55101
Contact Info Page
Use the above resource to file a complaint against an insurer.
Insurance Division Topics: Auto Insurance
The Insurance Division provides a useful resource for consumers to learn more about insurance and seek guidance on the different types of car insurance in Minnesota.
Minnesota Department of Public Safety: Driver & Vehicle Services
445 Minnesota Street Suite 190
Saint Paul MN 55101-5190