Mississippi Car Insurance

Mississippi drivers know the importance of a good auto policy and staying safe behind the wheel on the open road. But keeping on top of the rules of the road and maintaining a good insurance policy can be complicated at best and downright confusing at worst. To make things easy for Mississippi drivers, The Simple Dollar has put together a one-stop resource for readers to learn about different types of insurance, as well as important state rules and regulations.

 

 

 

Enter Your Zip Code:

Stats in Your State

If you’ve ever wondered how your rates compare with other drivers, we’ve put together numerous at-a-glance graphs and visualizations to help readers understand the factors that affect auto insurance in Mississippi. Read on to gain an appreciation for the cost of insurance, traffic fatalities in the state over time, and the cost of car repairs compared to the U.S. average.

Auto Insurance Premiums

Mississippi car insurance rates fluctuated throughout the 2000s to mirror nationwide patterns, but they were consistently lower than the U.S. average yearly premiums by anywhere from $100 to $60 across the same time period.

Traffic Fatalities over time

In the mid-2000s, roughly 900 traffic fatalities occurred in Mississippi on a yearly basis; since 2005, however, these numbers have curbed significantly due to adoption of stricter standards and public awareness about safe driving. In 2011, just 630 traffic deaths occurred on Mississippi roads.

Auto Repair Costs

According to CarMD.com, car repair costs in Mississippi in 2010 fell below the national average by roughly $40 per repair; the following year, this number climbed to within just a few dollars of the U.S. average. The increase indicates a healthier economy where more drivers choose to repair their vehicles than go without basic maintenance.

Rules in Your State

Keeping yourself legal on the road involves many factors, and keeping abreast of the changing laws is important for every driver out there. To help keep Mississippi drivers on the straight and narrow path, we’ve compiled the essential rules and regulations around car insurance requirements, licensing facts for new drivers, and drunk driving laws.

Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Mississippi

Liability insurance coverage with the following limits:

  • $25,000 of bodily injury or death to another person in any one accident
  • $50,000 of bodily injury or death to two or more people in any one accident
  • $25,000 of injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident

Required Proof of Insurance in Mississippi:

You must carry an insurance card with the following information on it:

  • Name of insurance company
  • Name of insured driver
  • Year, make/model, VIN of registered vehicle
  • Effective date/expiration date of policy
  • Insurance policy number
  • The insurance company’s customer service telephone number or name of local agent with contact information
  • This statement: “Mississippi law requires that this card is to be kept in the insured motor vehicle for presentment upon demand.”

Mississippi Licensing Facts for Teen Drivers

The Mississippi Department of Public Safety has established the following as the path to full, unrestricted license.

Hardship License for Minors? No.

Learner’s Permit Age: 15 years

Restricted License Age: 16 years. Driver must hold a learner’s permit for at least one year before applying for a restricted license, and may not drive between 10 pm and 6 am.

Full License (Unrestricted) Age: 16 years, 6 months.

DUI/DWI Laws:

Drinking and driving is dangerous and against the law. The Mississippi Department of Public Safety and the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety state:

Administrative license suspension 1st offense? 90 day suspension
Restore driving privileges during suspension? After 30 days with proof of hardship
Are ignition interlocks mandatory for first offenders for the following offenses? No
Are ignition interlocks mandatory for repeat offenders for the following offenses? yes
Fine for first offense? $250
Jail sentence for first offense? Up to 48 hours if driver refuses a BAC field sobriety test

Representatives & Resources in Your State

The following resources provide great starting points whether you’re looking to brush up on different types of insurance, research the laws in the state, seek assistance on consumer advocacy issues, or just become familiar with the resources available to you.

Mississippi Insurance Department (MID)
Mississippi Insurance Department
1001 Woolfolk State Office Building
501 North West Street
Jackson, MS 39201
Get Directions
601-359-3569
MID Contact Info
Consumer Complaint Resource
Consumers can file formal complaints against insurers for unfair conduct or discrimination at the above link.
MID Auto Insurance Resource
The Mississippi Insurance Department has a great deal of information to educate consumers on car insurance in the state.

Mississippi Department of Public Safety
Mississippi Department of Public Safety Headquarters
1900 East Woodrow Wilson Drive
Jackson, MS 39216
Get Directions
Contact Info for MDPS
Mississippi Department of Public Safety: Driver Services
The Department of Public Safety handles driver licensing across the state. contact them to find a location near you.

Mississippi Department of Revenue: Vehicle Services
The Department of Revenue handles vehicle licensing, registration, and tab renewals across Mississippi.