Stats in Your State
To get a sense of how your premiums compare with others in the state and the rest of the country, the graphs below provide a wealth of information at a glance. You’ll also get a perspective on other factors affecting the price of car insurance in Missouri, including traffic fatalities and car repair costs.
Auto Insurance Premiums
In 2004, while average car insurance premiums across the U.S. were on their way towards $850 per year, Missouri’s average car insurance cost sat steadily at $702 -- for two years in a row. In the years that followed, when drivers around the U.S. were lucky to pay less than $800 for insurance, Missouri’s rates were around $660. The flat terrain and predictable weather make for low cost insurance across the state.
Traffic Fatalities over time
Between 2005 and 2011, Missouri’s traffic fatalities dropped nearly 40%, from 1,287 to 784. This reflects a greater trend across the U.S. toward more reliable cars, higher driving standards, and public awareness of the risks of cell phone use, all of which combine for safer roads across the country.
Auto Repair Costs
At $297.27 in 2010 and $310.20 in 2011, Missouri’s average car repair costs sat well below the national average, which was above $330 in both years. While this indicator seems generic, it says a lot about the state of the economy in Missouri, how many residents are choosing to fix their cars, and the type of repairs (and overall expenses) they’re pursuing.
Rules in Your State
Below you’ll find the essential rules of the road every Missouri driver should know. The basic insurance requirements, licensing facts for new drivers, and drunk driving laws and penalties are crucial for everyone’s safety on the road, so take a moment to brush up on your facts and make sure you’re in compliance with all applicable laws.
Minimum Car Insurance Requirements for Missouri Drivers
Liability insurance with the following minimum limits:
- $25,000 per person for bodily injury
- $50,000 per accident for bodily injury
- $10,000 per accident for property
Required Proof of Insurance for Missouri Drivers
You must have an insurance card with you with the following information:
- Name/address of insurance company
- Insurance policy number
- Effective date/expiration date of policy
- Accurate description of year, make and model of registered vehicle
- Name of insured driver
- The statement: “This card must be carried in the insured motor vehicle for production upon demand.”
Missouri Licensing Facts for Teen Drivers: Graduated License Law
Be sure your teen driver is following the laws of the Missouri:
- Hardship License for Minors? No.
- Learner’s Permit Age: 15 years. 40 hours of driving practice are required, 10 of which must be completed at night.
- Restricted License Age: 16 years. Driver must have a permit for at least 6 months before applying for restricted license, and may not drive between 1 and 5 am unless going to or from school or work; drivers are only allowed one passenger under the age of 19 for the first 6 months of the restricted license, and a maximum of 3 passengers afterwards.
- Full License (Unrestricted) Age: 18 years.
More Rules in Missouri
Auto Insurance Regulations: The Secretary of State’s website lists numerous regulations for various aspects of the insurance industry, and fortunately keeps them easy to find for consumers. At the above link you’ll find the car insurance regulations.
General Provisions for All Insurers: Unfair Trade Practices: To keep things simple, there is a set of unfair trade practices that apply to all insurers. The link above directs to the chapter of the legislative code, while the links below outline specific prohibited acts and practices:
The Missouri Department of Revenue DWI Laws are as stated:
|Administrative license suspension 1st offense?||90 days|
|Restore driving privileges during suspension?||Restricted driving privileges may be reinstated after 30 days if hardship is demonstrated.|
|Are ignition interlocks mandatory for first offenders for the following offenses?||No|
|Are ignition interlocks mandatory for repeat offenders for the following offenses?||yes|
|Fine for first offense?||$45 license reinstatement fee|
|Jail sentence for first offense?||No|
Representatives & Resources in Your State
In order to seek assistance on a particular issue, guidance with how to choose the best policy for you, or just to get in touch and familiarize yourself with your local government, the following links serve as great starting points for consumers to learn more and get connected.
Missouri Department of Insurance
Use the above link to contact the Department of Insurance to file an insurance complaint.
Auto Insurance Resource
The Department of Insurance provides a great resource of information to learn about auto insurance, as well as other types of insurance in Missouri.
PO Box 690
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0690
Missouri Department of Revenue: Driver Licensing
Use the above link to find a licensing office near you.
Missouri Department of Revenue: Motor Vehicle Registration & Licensing
The above link will assist readers in their motor vehicle registration needs, and help in finding a location nearby.
Missouri Department of Transportation (MoDOT)
105 West Capitol
PO Box 270
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0270
1-888 ASK MODOT – (1-888 275 6636)