Nebraska Car Insurance

The wide open plains and rows of corn make for mesmerizing scenery while driving through the Cornhusker State, but don’t let yourself get distracted from maintaining a good car insurance policy. The Simple Dollar has come through with an easy to use resource for readers to better understand car insurance, so read on to learn more about different types of insurance, state regulations, and the rules of the road in Nebraska.

 

 

 

Enter Your Zip Code:

Stats in Your State

Gaining an understanding for how car insurance works is valuable, and crucial to getting the most out of your policy. That understanding begins with the statistics and factors that affect the price of car insurance in Nebraska.

Auto Insurance Premiums

The easy driving terrain and relatively predictable weather in Nebraska make for some of the least expensive car insurance rates in all of the U.S. Between 2000 and 2008, Nebraska car insurance rates crested $600 only three years before dropping again in the latter half of the decade. The national average was ranged from $724 to $838 during the same period.

Traffic Fatalities over time

Nebraska yearly traffic fatalities have been on a steady decline since 2002, when a decade-high of 307 deaths occurred on Nebraska roads. Fortunately, stricter safety standards and more restrictive driving laws helped reduce this number to 181 by 2011.

Auto Repair Costs

During both 2010 and 2011, Nebraska car repair costs have remained below the average U.S.car repair costs. These numbers are affected by a number of factors, including whether or not drivers actually fix their cars and what types of repairs are performed.

Rules in Your State

Knowing the rules of the road is key to staying safe and keeping your property and yourself intact. The Simple Dollar has gathered the necessary rules of the road for Nebraska drivers to get a handle on how to stay legal on the open highway.

Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Nebraska

Liability coverage with the following minimum limits:

  • $25,000, for bodily injuries to or death of one person in an accident
  • $50,000, of bodily injuries or death of two people in an accident
  • $25,000, for injury to or destruction of others’ property in an accident

Required Proof of Insurance in Nebraska

You must carry with you an insurance card with the following information:

  • Name of insurance company
  • Insurance policy number
  • Effective date/expiration date of policy
  • Year, make, and model of registered vehicle
  • Name(s) of insured driver

Nebraska’s Graduated Driver License: Licensing Facts for Teen Drivers

The DMV stipulates:

  • Hardship License for Minors? Yes. A School Permit may be issued to minors over the age of 14 who live in remote areas and must drive themselves to school.
  • Learner’s Permit Age: 15 years. Drivers must log at least 50 hours of driving practice time and hold a permit for at least six months before applying for a restricted license.
  • Restricted License Age: 16 years. Drivers must hold the unrestricted license for one year before applying for a full license. Additionally, they not drive from 12:00 am to 6:00 am for one year, and may only carry one passenger under the age of 19 for the first month.
  • Full License (Unrestricted) Age: 18 years.

More Nebraskan Rules

Unfair Property and Casualty Insurance Trade Practices: These unfair insurance trade practices are clearly defined by the Department of Insurance as prohibited actions. If you feel you’ve been the victim of unfair treatment, consult with an attorney and consider filing a complaint against the insurer with the Department of Insurance.

Nebraska Rules and Regulations Search Tool: Use this search tool to browse the insurance regulations in Nebraska.

DUI/DWI Laws:

According to the Nebraska Department of Transportation:

Administrative license suspension 1st offense? 6 months
Restore driving privileges during suspension? If hardship is demonstrated, license may be restored after 30 days.
Are ignition interlocks mandatory for first offenders for the following offenses? Yes
Are ignition interlocks mandatory for repeat offenders for the following offenses? yes
Fine for first offense? $500
Jail sentence for first offense? 7 days to 60 days

Representatives & Resources in Your State

The links below provide a good jumping off point for readers to learn more about how insurance works in Nebraska, and how to reach out to the local government for assistance, guidance, and advice on how to choose a good policy and stay on top of your insurance needs.

Nebraska Department of Insurance
PO Box 82089
Lincoln, NE 68501-2089
(402) 471-2201
Consumer Complaint Resource
Property and Casualty Information Resource
The property and casualty section of the Department of Insurance’s website links to some basic regulations, guidelines, and rules around property and casualty insurance.
Insurance Brochures
These Department of Insurance guides cover all fundamentals of auto, home, health and life insurance. Consumers will find not only gain insight into how insurance works, but also learn about their rights as policyholders and find out where to turn if the time comes to file a complaint against their provider.

Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles
Various DMV Locations
DMV Office Hours

Nebraska Department of Roads
Mailing Address
State of Nebraska Department of Roads – Main Office
P.O. Box 94759
Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4759
Physical Address
1500 Highway 2
Lincoln, Nebraska 68502
Get Directions
(402) 471-4567