Stats in Your State
Comparing car insurance premiums is easy when you can see the information at a glance, so we’ve put together a number of different data sets for readers to easily understand what’s affecting the price of car insurance in Nevada. Read on to see how car insurance rates, traffic fatalities, and repair costs have varied through recent years.
Auto Insurance Premiums
Since 2000, Nevada car insurance premiums have fluctuated above the U.S. average by anywhere from $100 more per year to $200 more per year. This is due in no small part to the large number of tourists passing through the state’s gambling playgrounds, who regularly cause traffic accidents and turmoil for locals.
Traffic Fatalities over time
Nevada traffic fatalities spiked in 2005 and 2006 before taking a sharp decline in subsequent years, due largely to stricter safety standards on the part of auto manufacturers and safer driving laws. The yearly average for traffic deaths in 2009-2010 has hovered around 250, down from a high of 431 in 2006.
Auto Repair Costs
Between 2010 and 2011, Nevada’s average car repair costs dropped from roughly $390 per repair to just below the national average at $333. While these numbers indicate a seemingly large fluctuation, they are affected by uncertain factors such as people who choose not to fix their cars and repairs performed privately.
Rules in Your State
To play your hand right, you need to know the rules of the game. On the same token, it pays to know the rules of the road before getting behind the wheel. We’ve listed the relevant laws for car insurance requirements in Nevada, new driver licensing regulations, and drunk driving laws.
Car Insurance Minimums for Nevada Drivers
These are the liability insurance coverage minimums for Nevada drivers:
- $15,000 of bodily injury or death of each person in an accident
- $30,000 of bodily injury or death of all persons in an accident
- $10,000 of injury to or damage of property of others in any one accident
Required Proof of Car Insurance in Nevada
- Name of insurance company
- Insurance policy number
- Effective date/expiration date of policy
- Accurate description of year, make/model of registered vehicle
- Name and address of insured driver
The Graduated Driver License: Licensing Facts for Teen Drivers in Nevada
Being a teen driver is stressful for both the teen and the parent; alleviate some of this anxiety by keeping up with Nevada teen driving laws.
- Hardship License for Minors? Yes, teen drivers may apply if special hardship is demonstrated.
- Learner’s Permit Age: 15 years, 6 months. Drivers must log 50 hours of driving practice and hold their permit for 6 months.
- Restricted License Age: 16 years. Drivers may not transport passengers under the age of 18 for the first six months of their restricted license; and are not allowed to drive between 10:00 pm and 5:00 am.
- Full License (Unrestricted) Age: 18 years.
More Rules in Nevada
Insurance General Provisions: Unfair Acts Prohibited: The Nevada Insurance General Provisions statute lists the unfair acts and methods which insurers may not use when settling claims or doing business with policyholders or claimants.
DUI/DWI rules as stated by the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles:
|Administrative license suspension 1st offense?||90 days|
|Restore driving privileges during suspension?||If hardship is demonstrated, driving privileges may be reinstated after 45 days.|
|Are ignition interlocks mandatory for first offenders for the following offenses?||High BAC offenders: Yes|
|Are ignition interlocks mandatory for repeat offenders for the following offenses?||yes|
|Fine for first offense?||$400 to $1,000|
|Jail sentence for first offense?||2 days to 6 months in jail, or community service|
Representatives & Resources in Your State
Here you’ll find links to information and resources to assist consumers with insurance issues and to learn more about car insurance in Nevada. The Division of Insurance is a wealth of information for consumers to brush up on how their car insurance policy works, and how to file a complaint or seek assistance on an issue.
Nevada Division of Insurance (DOI)
Nevada Division of Insurance in Carson City:
1818 E. College Pkwy., Suite 103
Carson City, NV 89706
Nevada Division of Insurance in Las Vegas:
2501 East Sahara Ave., Suite 302
Las Vegas, NV 89104
Consumer Complaints: Use this link to file a formal complaint against an insurance company for misconduct or unfair treatment.
Nevada Car Insurance Information: The Division of Insurance provides useful guides to consumers on how insurance works and how to choose a good policy for their needs.
Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles
The Department of Motor Vehicles handles vehicle licensing and driver licensing throughout the state. Use the link below to find an office near you.
Offices and Contact Info