Stats in Your State
How do car insurance rates and requirements in North Carolina stack up to those in other states? What about average repair costs and car accident rates in this state? We’ve compiled all of this information and more to help drivers in North Carolina assess and compare their auto coverage against state and national averages.
Auto Insurance Premiums
While auto premiums are steadily rising, North Carolina drivers pay less to insure each vehicle than the average driver does nationally. In fact, average premiums for this state have been lower than national averages since 1991. The most recent numbers from 2008 show that current averages are around $595, nearly $200 below the national average auto premium for that year.
Traffic Fatalities over time
North Carolina has a much higher rate of traffic fatality than most other states — only three other states reported more traffic fatalities on average. However, while the state’s high population density increase, annual traffic fatalities have increased at a slower rate than expected. In 2005, North Carolina reported 1,547 deaths, compared to 1,431 in ten years earlier.
Auto Repair Costs
Car repair costs are rising everywhere and North Carolina is no exception. In fact, costs may be rising faster for labor and parts in this state than in many others. Between 2011 and 2012 average repair expenses rose by just $6, but the state jumped from the 26th most expensive state to get your car repaired to the 8th in that same amount of time.
Rules in Your State
North Carolina drivers should know the auto licensing and insurance laws for their state in order to maintain legal and affordable coverage on their vehicles. We’ll cover these particulars and everything else that you might need here.
Minimum Car Insurance Requirements
In order to register a vehicle in North Carolina, drivers must provide proof of insurance. These are the state’s minimum insurance coverages:
- $30,000 per person in injuries (capped once the policy has paid a full $60,000 in injury coverage for a group of any size)
- $25,000 in property damage coverage
Required Proof of Insurance
At the time of licensing, you’ll need to show the DMV officer at least one insurance document that shows your name, the effective date of the policy, the expiration date of the policy and the date the policy was issued. You can use the following documents:
- A DL-123 form from your insurance agent
- Your vehicle’s insurance policy
- An insurance card with your name, the policy number and the effective dates
North Carolina Licensing Facts for Teen Drivers
North Carolina drivers must wait until the age of 15 before getting their learner’s permit. If permit holders fulfill the state’s driver’s education requirements, they can take the test to receive their full license 6 months after their 16th birthday; otherwise, drivers must wait until they reach the age of 18.
- Hardship License for Minors? No
- Learner’s Permit Age: 15 years
- Restricted License Age: 16 years
- Full License Age: 16 years, 6 months with driver’s education (18 years without)
|Administrative license suspension 1st offense?||30 days|
|Restore driving privileges during suspension?||Restored after 10 days|
|Are ignition interlocks mandatory for first offenders for the following offenses?||High-BAC offenders only|
|Are ignition interlocks mandatory for repeat offenders for the following offenses?||yes|
|Fine for first offense?||Up to $200|
|Jail sentence for first offense?||24 hours for first offense, but up to two years for a third offense|
Representatives & Resources in Your State
If you decide that you want to learn more about your rights and obligations as a car insurance policyholder in North Carolina, the following state resources and representatives are here to help you:
North Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles
For Vehicle Liability Insurance:
3147 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-3147
For State Headquarters:
6016 Brookshire Blvd.
Charlotte, NC 28216
North Carolina Department of Transportation
1550 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699
1 S. Wilmington St.
Raleigh, NC 27601
You can also call the office at (919) 733-2304 or submit an email.