Stats in Your State
Luckily for Oklahomans, drivers in the state save a pretty penny on car insurance compared to the rest of the country. With low premiums and safe roads, Oklahomans have good reasons to keep up their driver-centric lifestyles.
Auto Insurance Premiums
Auto insurance premiums in Oklahoma are generally more affordable than rates found elsewhere in the country. While Oklahoma’s prices have mirrored nationwide trends, the cost of a premium is roughly $100 lower than the U.S. average. This reduced rate goes hand-in-hand with Oklahoma’s affordable cost-of-living reputation.
Traffic Fatalities over time
Oklahoma automobile fatalities vary each year, but since 2005 there has been a significant reduction in traffic deaths. Part of the reason for this encouraging change is new airbag technology and car design, but road improvements have also contributed to this decline. In both 2010 and 2011, less than 700 traffic deaths were recorded.
Auto Repair Costs
Car repair costs in Oklahoma are on par with the national average. In 2010, residents of the Sooner state paid $335 per year; the following year, only 36 cents separated Oklahoma costs from the national average.
Rules in Your State
You might be an excellent driver, but if you don’t know the rules of the road, your ignorance could still result in a hefty ticket. Take a look at the rules below for licensing information, distracted driving regulations, and DUI penalties to ensure your driving habits don't land you in hot water with the police.
Oklahoma Car Insurance Minimums
According to the Oklahoma government, you must have car insurance that is “25/50/25″, which means your coverage will account for:
- Bodily Injury: $25,000 per person, $50,000 max
- Property Damage: $25,000
Oklahoma Licensing Facts for Teen Drivers: The Graduated Driver License
Hardship License for Minors? No.
Learner’s Permit Age: 15 years, 6 months.
- Learner must have 40 practice hours and hold permit for six months.
- Intermediate drivers cannot drive between 11 p.m. and 5 a.m. unless a licensed driver is present.
- Intermediate drivers cannot drive more than a single passenger of any age (family excluded).
Restricted License Age: 16 years.
Full License (Unrestricted) Age: 16 years, 6 months. Must have perfect driving record for first six months; if not, 18 years for full license.
- Oklahoma bans driving while talking on a handheld phone for drivers with a learner’s permit or intermediate license.
- A texting ban is in place for learner’s permit holders, intermediate license holders, school bus drivers, and public transit drivers.
Drinking and driving not only puts yourself and your passengers at risk, but it's also illegal. Here are the fines and penalties Oklahoma drivers face if they're caught drunk behind the wheel.
|Administrative license suspension 1st offense?||180 days|
|Restore driving privileges during suspension?||Yes, only under special hardship|
|Are ignition interlocks mandatory for first offenders for the following offenses?||High BAC offenders only|
|Are ignition interlocks mandatory for repeat offenders for the following offenses?||yes|
|Fine for first offense?||Up to $1000|
|Jail sentence for first offense?||10 days to 1 year|
Representatives & Resources in Your State
If you’re a driver in Oklahoma, make sure you know the proper channels to go through for licensing, registration, and insurance information. The Simple Dollar has assembled this list of resources so information is at your fingertips when you need it most.
Oklahoma Tax Commission (Motor Vehicle Registration)
2501 North Lincoln Boulevard
Oklahoma City, OK 73194