Stats in Your State
Open roads and highways with a little elbow room ensure most Oregon drivers can get from point A to B in record time, although if you live in Portland you might have a few more backups than residents in more isolated areas. The relative affordability of Oregon’s cost of living are apparent in the low auto insurance prices and slightly above average car repair costs. Take a look at the data below to get a full picture of driving costs in the Beaver State.
Auto Insurance Premiums
Oregonians get a nice break on their car insurance compared with the rest of the country. Despite a similar rise in costs between 2000 and 2004, drivers can expect to pay roughly $730 per year in auto premiums.
Traffic Fatalities over time
Since 2005, there has been a steady decrease in traffic fatalities due to improved automotive technology and road design. In 2010, Oregon recorded 317 auto-related deaths — a 10-year low.
Auto Repair Costs
Oregon car repair costs outpaced the rest of the nation’s expenses by a mere $10 in both 2010 and 2011. If you’re a driver in this state, expect to spend about $346 per year on fixing your car.
Rules in Your State
If your memory of driver’s education is a hazy blur, you might benefit from a quick refresher on Oregon’s rules of the road. Knowing the minimum insurance requirements in your state, accident policies, distracted driving rules, and licensing information can help you avoid pesky tickets and keep you off the cops’ radar.
Minimum Car Insurance Requirements
- $25,000 for injury or death of a single person
- $50,000 total for injury or death of multiple people in a single accident
- $10,000 for property damage
- $15,000 for personal injury protection
Colorado Licensing Facts for Teen Drivers: The Graduated Driver License
Hardship License for Minors? No.
Learner’s Permit Age: 15 years.
Restricted License Age: 16 years.
- Must have had permit for six months
- Must either complete an ODOT-approved driving course and 50 hours behind the wheel or 100 practice hours
- Driving between midnight and 5 a.m. is prohibited during the first year of holding the license unless commuting between home, school, and/or work
- No passengers younger than 20 for the first six months except family members. For the next six months, a maximum of three passengers under the age of 20 allowed
Full License (Unrestricted) Age: 18 years.
In the state of Oregon, there is a ban on handheld cell phones and texting for all drivers.
Like most states, Oregon imposes stiff penalties on those who choose to drink and drive. Here are a few consequences of getting behind the wheel in Oregon after having one too many.
|Administrative license suspension 1st offense?||90 days|
|Restore driving privileges during suspension?||After 30 days, but drivers must demonstrate special hardship|
|Are ignition interlocks mandatory for first offenders for the following offenses?||Yes|
|Are ignition interlocks mandatory for repeat offenders for the following offenses?||yes|
|Fine for first offense?||$1,000 minimum|
|Jail sentence for first offense?||48 hours minimum|
Representatives & Resources in Your State
The following resources are available to Oregon residents who are looking to open a new auto insurance policy (or modify a previously existing one), file a claim, obtain a driver's license, register a vehicle, or contact a law enforcement official.