Stats in Your State
To illustrate the state of the car insurance industry in Utah, we’ve put together a few graphs to help readers compare rates and visualize the factors that affect auto insurance premiums in Utah. Read on for the useful graphs and charts, and don’t be surprised if you gain a better perspective on the industry as a whole.
Auto Insurance Premiums
Utah’s wide expanses of highway and predictable weather make it a low-risk state for car insurers, as evidenced by this graph. Utah car insurance premiums have stayed roughly 10% or more below the U.S. average across the 2000’s, though Utah followed the national trend of rising rates through the mid-2000’s followed by a slight decrease through 2007 and 2008.
Traffic Fatalities over time
Like the rest of the U.S., Utah saw traffic fatalities decline significantly between the early 2000’s and 2011 – from 373 at their height in 2000 to 240 in 2011, a decrease of about one third. Safer vehicles and wider public awareness of road safety both contributed to safer roadways nationwide.
Auto Repair Costs
In both 2010 and 2011, Utah’s average car repair costs hovered around $375, above the national average cost per repair. This indicates a strong economy where more residents elect to fix their cars and fix them completely, allowing mechanics to charge a little more.
Rules in Your State
In addition to keeping all four tires on the road, it pays to know the requirements for insurance and other regulations for drivers across the state. Fortunately, we’ve got you covered with an outline of the basic requirements for insurance coverage, new driver laws, and drunk driving rules in Utah.
Minimum Required Car Insurance in Utah
- $25,000 of bodily injury to another person
- $65,000 of bodily injuries to all other persons
- $15,000 of injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident
Required Proof of Insurance in Utah
- Name of Insurance Company
- Insurance Policy Number
- Effective Date/Expiration Date of Policy
- Accurate description of all vehicles covered in the policy
- Name of Insured Driver
Utah Licensing Facts for Teen Drivers
According to Utah’s Public Safety Department:
- Hardship License for Minors? No.
- Learner’s Permit Age: 15 years. Drivers must log 40 practice hours and hold their learner’s permit for 6 months before applying for a license.
- Restricted License Age: 16 years. Drivers under the age of 17 are not allowed to drive between 12:00 am and 4:00 am.
- Full License (Unrestricted) Age: 17 years.
More Rules for Drivers in Utah
The state legislature has set forth specific rules for property and casualty insurance claims in Utah, which can be found here. Additional insurance rules are available at this site, and readers are encouraged to contact the Insurance Department for assistance on researching and understanding the various statutes and rules.
Utah's Sentencing Commission stipulates the following:
|Administrative license suspension 1st offense?||120 days|
|Restore driving privileges during suspension?||No|
|Are ignition interlocks mandatory for first offenders for the following offenses?||No|
|Are ignition interlocks mandatory for repeat offenders for the following offenses?||yes|
|Fine for first offense?||$700|
|Jail sentence for first offense?||48 hours|
Representatives & Resources in Your State
Readers who want to delve deeper into the insurance rules, resources, and consumer guides can do so by getting in touch with the state’s Insurance Department at the link below. Contact them for consumer advocacy and support on difficult claims, as well.
Utah Insurance Department
3110 State Office Building
Salt Lake City, UT 84114
Car Insurance Information
The Insurance Department’s consumer guides are great sources of information for readers to learn more about different types of insurance in Utah. Click the link above for the car insurance guide.