Stats in Your State
Readers who want to get a fuller understanding of how auto insurance works in Vermont have come to the right place. We’ve listed a few factors below in graph form to give readers a better view of the auto insurance industry and an idea of what factors affect rates both across the state and in the U.S. in general.
Auto Insurance Premiums
Between 2000 and 2008, Vermont drivers have enjoyed car insurance premiums well below the national average. While Vermont rates peaked at $699 per year in 2005, the U.S. average hadn’t been below $700 per year since 2000. The rural driving and relatively low population make Vermont a relatively low-cost state to insure.
Traffic Fatalities over time
Vermont’s yearly traffic fatalities account for less than one tenth the number of fatalities seen in some states around the country, but nonetheless the state has seen the number of yearly deaths rise and fall along with national trends. The second half of the 2000’s saw decreased number of fatalities following strict car safety standards across the country.
Auto Repair Costs
In both 2010 and 2011, Vermont’s average car repair costs remained $20 and $30 below the national average. This indicates a weaker economy than the rest of the nation, and that many drivers may be opting not to fix their cars.
Rules in Your State
Staying safe on the road involves both keeping your eyes on the road and also keeping your mind on your insurance policy -- without the proper coverage, you could be putting others and yourself at undue financial risk in the case of an accident. We’ve listed the necessary insurance requirements below, along with licensing facts for teen drivers and drunk driving penalties for reference, as well.
Minimum Required Car Insurance Limits in Vermont
Liability coverage requirements:
- $25,000 of bodily injury to another person
- $50,000 of bodily injuries to all other persons
- $10,000 of injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident
Uninsured/underinsured Motorist coverage:
- $50,000 minimum for bodily injury or death per injured person
- $100,000 minimum for bodily injury or death per accident
- $10,000 for property damage per claim
Required Proof of Insurance in Vermont
- Name of insurance carrier
- Effective and expiration dates of coverage
- Name of insured
- Accurate description of year, make and model of registered vehicle
- Vehicle identification number
- Liability Bond
- Name of company issuing bond
- Bond number
- Name of driver covered by bond
Vermont Licensing Facts for Teen Drivers
If you’re a teen driver in Vermont, or a parent of a teen; these are the rules you need to know:
- Hardship License for Minors? No.
- Learner’s Permit Age: 15 years. Drivers must log 40 practice hours and hold their learner’s permit for one year prior to applying for a license.
- Restricted License Age: 16 years. May only carry passengers when accompanied by an adult over the age of 25 for the first 6 months of license.
- Full License (Unrestricted) Age: 16 years, 6 months.
Driving under the influence is dangerous and against the law; here are Vermont's penalties for committing this crime:
|Administrative license suspension 1st offense?||90 days|
|Restore driving privileges during suspension?||No|
|Are ignition interlocks mandatory for first offenders for the following offenses?||Yes|
|Are ignition interlocks mandatory for repeat offenders for the following offenses?||yes|
|Fine for first offense?||Up to $750|
|Jail sentence for first offense?||Up to 2 years|
Representatives & Resources in Your State
When you’ve had your fill of reading up on insurance regulations, you might need a hand sifting through the details. That’s where the Insurance Division comes in to assist with consumer questions, complaints, and provide support to consumers who are in a dispute with their insurer. You can also find links to other state agencies at the other links below.
Vermont Department of Financial Regulation: Insurance Division
State of Vermont
Department of Financial Regulation
89 Main Street, Montpelier, VT 05620 – 3101
Consumer Complaint Resource
The Insurance Division is a wealth of information on all types of insurance, and has numerous consumer guides available online.
Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles
120 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05603-0001
The Department of Motor vehicles provides driver licensing and vehicle services across the state. Visit their website to find an office near you.
Vermont Agency of Transportation
120 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05603-0001
The Vermont Agency of Transportation handles road updates, traffic, and road safety statewide.