Stats in Your State
To keep things in perspective, we’ve compiled a few sets of data about the car insurance market and the factors that affect it. Compare your insurance costs with the average rates in your state and the U.S., and read on to learn more about the factors that make the Virginia car insurance industry tick.
Auto Insurance Premiums
Despite Virginia’s significant traffic around the D.C. metro area, Virginia drivers are relatively conservative. Car insurance rates across the state have remained steadily below the U.S. average between 2000 and 2008, indicating low-risk drivers with few accidents compared with the rest of the nation.
Traffic Fatalities over time
Traffic fatalities in Virginia dropped by roughly 30% from 2007 to 2010 as stricter auto manufacturer safety standards and public awareness for safe driving spread across the country. Virginia mirrored a national trend in terms of safer roads in the latter half of the decade.
Auto Repair Costs
Although Virginia’s average car repair costs in 2010 was cheaper than the national average by about $20 per repair, the tables turned in 2011, indicating Virginia’s drivers were willing to spend more on car repairs and have additional work done to keep their cars looking good, a symptom of a thriving economy.
Rules in Your State
In addition to keeping your eyes on the road, it’s important to maintain the state-required minimum insurance coverage, among other things. We’ve listed a handful of key rules for Virginia drivers to follow, including car insurance requirements, teen driver licensing facts, and drunk driving penalties.
Required Minimum Car Insurance in Virginia
- $25,000 of bodily injury or death of another person
- $50,000 of bodily injury or death to all other people
- $20,000 of injury to or destruction of property.
Required Proof of Insurance in Virginia
- Insurance Company
- Policy Number
- Effective Date/Expiration Date
- Year, make/model of registered vehicle
- Name of Insured Driver
Virginia Licensing Facts for Teen Drivers
Virginia’s DMV created the graduated driver license program to ensure the safety of teen drivers and other driving citizens alike.
- Hardship License for Minors? No.
- Learner’s Permit Age: 15 years, 6 months. Drivers must log 45 practice hours including 15 hours of night driving.
- Restricted License Age: 16 years, 3 months. May not drive between 12:00 am and 4:00 am, and may only have one passenger for first 6 months of license, and only 3 passengers thereafter until age 18.
- Full License (Unrestricted) Age: 18 years.
More Rules Drives in Virginia Need to Know
Fortunately for Virginia consumers, the state legislature has set forth specific unfair practices, which insurers are prohibited from using when settling claims. The regulations are listed below, and readers can explore additional regulations for the industry in general at the same websites.
|Administrative license suspension 1st offense?||1 year|
|Restore driving privileges during suspension?||No|
|Are ignition interlocks mandatory for first offenders for the following offenses?||No|
|Are ignition interlocks mandatory for repeat offenders for the following offenses?||yes|
|Fine for first offense?||$250|
|Jail sentence for first offense?||No|
Representatives & Resources in Your State
For consumer advocacy, guidance on how to choose a good insurer, and general information on the insurance industry and different types of coverage, you’ve come to the right place. The links below provide a wealth of information for consumers to stay ahead of the curve in terms of auto insurance.
Virginia Bureau of Insurance
P.O. Box 1157
Richmond, Virginia 23218-1157
Consumer Guides and Brochures
The Bureau of Insurance has put together a number of useful guides to educate and inform consumers on everything insurance-related.
Virginia’s legislature has set forth mandatory benefits for accident and health insurance, among others. Read about them at the above link.