Stats in Your State
If you’re wondering how your car insurance rates compare to others in West Virginia and around the country, you’re in the right place. We’ve also graphed out some other facts like traffic fatalities and car repair costs in West Virginia to illustrate how they correlate to insurance premiums.
Auto Insurance Premiums
Throughout the 2000s, West Virginia’s average car insurance rates have remained close to the national average (usually within $10 or $20 during most years) and fluctuations have matched nationwide trends. West Virginia’s higher proportions of the more accident prone off-road and ATV users contributes to slightly higher-than average car insurance rates.
Traffic Fatalities over time
With widespread public awareness campaigns for road safety and stricter safety standards for U.S. auto manufacturers, West Virginia traffic fatalities dropped from over 430 in 2007 to 315 in 2010, a decrease of roughly 27%.
Auto Repair Costs
2010 and 2011 were low-cost years in terms of average car repairs in the Mountain State, as West Virginia drivers paid less than the national average for car repairs. This is due in part to many West Virginians performing their own repairs or choosing not to fix minor damage, both of which contribute to a lower overall average for repair costs across the state.
Rules in Your State
To help keep West Virginia’s driving population on a straight and narrow path, we’ve listed a handful of important rules of the road below, including the state’s minimum car insurance requirements, rules for new drivers, and penalties for drunk driving and driving while intoxicated.
Minimum Required Car Insurance in West Virginia
In West Virginia, the following minimums apply:
- Liability insurance of $20,000 for bodily injury to one person and $40,000 for bodily injuries to two or more people
- Liability insurance of $10,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident
- Uninsured motorist insurance of $20,000 for bodily injury to one person and $40,000 for bodily injuries to two or more people
- Uninsured motorist insurance of $10,000 for destruction of property
Required Proof of Insurance in West Virginia
Drivers must carry a WV-1 Certificate of Insurance in their vehicle, issued by their insurance company.
West Virginia Licensing Facts for Teen Drivers: The Graduated Driver License
In West Virginia, parents and teens should understand the following teen driving rules established by the state’s government:
Hardship License for Minors? No.
Learner’s Permit Age: 15 years. Drivers must hold permit for 6 months and log 50 hours of driving practice.
Restricted License Age: 16 years. Drivers may not drive from 10 p.m. to 5 a.m., and may not have any passengers under the age of 19 for the first year of driving.
Full License (Unrestricted) Age: 17 years.
Additional Car Insurance Rules
The West Virginia Legislature has implemented specific regulations for insurance companies, including rules against unfair claims and trade practices. Click the link below for the details on the prohibited unfair trade practices for insurers.
West Virginia takes drunk driving seriously; as such, they've implemented the following penalties:
|Administrative license suspension 1st offense?||6 months|
|Restore driving privileges during suspension?||If hardship is demonstrated, license may be reinstated after 30 days.|
|Are ignition interlocks mandatory for first offenders for the following offenses?||Yes|
|Are ignition interlocks mandatory for repeat offenders for the following offenses?||yes|
|Fine for first offense?||$100 to $500|
|Jail sentence for first offense?||Up to 6 months|
Representatives & Resources in Your State
For readers looking to learn a bit more about car insurance and driving in West Virginia, the links and resources below provide great starting points. If you need consumer advocacy or support with difficult insurance issues, the Office of the Insurance Commissioner has numerous resources for consumers to seek assistance.
West Virginia Offices of the Insurance Commissioner
PO Box 50540
Charleston, WV 25305-0540
File a Complaint
Consumer Insurance Brochures
The Insurance Commissioner’s Office has published numerous useful consumer guides, all of which can be accessed at the link above.
West Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles
The Department of Motor Vehicles handles licensing and vehicle registration across the state, along with driver safety tips and other resources for drivers.