Stats in Your State
Understanding the car insurance industry isn’t easy, but it’s made simpler with the most important driving statistics laid out at a glance. We’ve put together a few sets of data to illustrate how Wyoming’s car insurance premiums compare with the national average, along with factors like traffic fatalities and average car repair costs that influence rates.
Auto Insurance Premiums
Despite a high influx of tourists each summer, Wyoming drivers remain relatively safe and cheap to insure compared with the U.S average. From 2000 to 2008, Wyoming drivers paid anywhere from $200 to $130 less on average than most Americans.
Traffic Fatalities over time
Although 2006 saw 195 traffic fatalities in Wyoming, between 2008 and 2011 the number of traffic deaths statewide has been consistently lower: between 130 and 160 each year. This is in no small part thanks to increased public awareness and safer vehicle manufacturing standards that led to safer roads nationwide.
Auto Repair Costs
While Wyoming’s drivers paid less than the national average for car repairs in 2010, the average car repair cost in Wyoming suddenly spiked in 2011 to more than $50 above the U.S. average. This is due in part to growth in Wyoming’s economy, leading to more drivers fixing their cars than in previous years.
Rules in Your State
Staying safe and legal on the open road involves more than just staying within the speed limit, so The Simple Dollar has compiled some essential rules of the road in one place for Wyoming drivers to reference. Below you’ll find the basics of insurance requirements, new driver laws, and drunk driving penalties, along with important insurance regulations.
Minimum Required Car Insurance in Wyoming
- $25,000 of bodily injury to another person
- $50,000 of bodily injuries to all other persons
- $20,000 of injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident
Required Proof of Insurance in Wyoming
- The name of the insured person
- The name of the insurance provider
- A description of the insured vehicle, including year, make, and model information and the vehicle’s identification number, or VIN.
- The effective date of coverage
Wyoming Licensing Facts for Teen Drivers: Understanding the Graduated Driver License
- Hardship License for Minors? Yes.
- Learner’s Permit Age: 14 years. Driver must have 50 practice hours of driving, and must reach age 16 before applying for a license.
- Restricted License Age: 16 years. Drivers may only have one passenger under the age of 18 and may not drive between 11:00 pm and 5:00 am for the first six months of their restricted license, or until they reach age 18, whichever comes sooner.
- Full License (Unrestricted) Age: 16 years, 6 months.
Additional Insurance Rules in Wyoming
The Wyoming Insurance Code regulates everything from corporate structures to claims practices, but a few of the most important sections are listed below. Read through them to get familiar with how claims are handled, and which practices are prohibited.
|Administrative license suspension 1st offense?||90 days|
|Restore driving privileges during suspension?||If hardship is demonstrated, restricted driving privileges may be restored.|
|Are ignition interlocks mandatory for first offenders for the following offenses?||High-BAC offenders only|
|Are ignition interlocks mandatory for repeat offenders for the following offenses?||yes|
|Fine for first offense?||Up to $750|
|Jail sentence for first offense?||Up to 6 months|
Representatives & Resources in Your State
Whether you need assistance with a difficult claim, or you’re just looking to learn more about your insurance options in Wyoming, you can find info and guidance at the links below. Contact these state agencies for tips on road safety, rules of the road, and how to choose a great insurance policy.