Entrepreneurship

What Do You Really Have to Lose?

This post goes out to all of the readers who are about to graduate from college (and from high school, for that matter) and are wondering what comes next (hopefully, you already know and have a plan for it, but if you do, you’re in the minority). A few days ago, a college student I …

The Side Business Question: What Is Your Time Worth?

Bob writes in: I’m in my mid twenties, worked doing tech support all through college, and worked out of college as the IT director for a political campaign of 120 staffers. I now have left to a job that fits my interests a little bit better, but clearly still have a lot of IT skills. …

Categories: Entrepreneurship

Review: Escape from Cubicle Nation

Every other Sunday, The Simple Dollar reviews a personal development, personal productivity, or career book. Several months ago, I wandered upon Pamela Slim’s excellent blog, Escape from Cubicle Nation. In a nutshell, the blog covers the transition from working in a cubicle (i.e., a traditional job) to self-employment – and all of the issues in …

Make Starting a Small Business/Freelancing a Success

An acquaintance from my previous career wrote to me recently asking about the steps I took when I made the switch to working at home: It’s official: I’m ready to get out of here. I’m tired of working here and I have a lot of people lined up to hire me for home catering and …

Review: Who’s Got Your Back

Every other Sunday, The Simple Dollar reviews a personal development, personal productivity, or entrepreneurship book. It’s no secret to long-time readers of The Simple Dollar that I loved Keith Ferrazzi’s first book Never Eat Alone. I thought it was a brilliant discussion of how to network ethically in the modern world by building real, valuable …

Review: Craft Inc.

Every other Sunday, The Simple Dollar reviews a personal productivity, personal development, or entrepreneurship book. Discover your passions and make a living from it. It’s an idea I talk about quite often on The Simple Dollar – and it often gets pooh-poohed by people who believe strongly in work-life separation, that you should do a …

The Power of Transferrable Skills

When I was in college, the vast majority of my classes were effectively training for a career in research and scientific data management. Seven years after graduation, though, I find myself drawing instead on the transferrable skills I picked up in other classes: public speaking, writing, leadership, information management, and so on. To put it …

Review: Rich Like Them

Every other Sunday, The Simple Dollar reviews a personal finance book. Rich Like Them by Ryan D’Agostino follows in the tradition of The Millionaire Next Door and The Difference: it interviews a large group of millionaires in order to figure out what traits they have in common. Rich Like Them takes this tactic and runs …

50 Side Businesses You Can Start On Your Own

In the past, I’ve discussed how it’s a good idea to spend your spare time dabbling in entrepreneurship: it fills your time with something that you choose (and thus you enjoy) and sets up a potential long-term revenue stream. I also discussed how I got a side business going myself. Since then, lots of readers …

Thoughts on Working from Home – One Year Later

One year ago, I began my journey as a full-time writer working from home. Prior to making that leap, I worked full time in a research lab with a small, rather tight-knit group of people and I spent my spare time (when I could find it) working on The Simple Dollar. After a year and …

Thoughts on Starting a Side Business in a Down Economy

Spend less than you earn doesn’t just mean cut back on your spending. It also means striving to earn more income when you can, because the real goal is to maximize the gap between your income and your spending and then use that for a greater purpose (saving for your goals). When the economy is …

Categories: Entrepreneurship

The Secrets to Entrepreneurship? Or More?

Earlier this week, I stumbled across an October article from Inc. entitled Street Smarts: Secrets of a $110 Million Man. The article carefully outlined ten essential tactics that underlie any successful entrepreneurial endeavor: 1. Numbers run a business. If you don’t know how to read them, you are flying blind. 2. A sale isn’t a …

Should an Entrepreneurial High Schooler Go to College?

Andy writes in (I touched up his grammar just a bit): I’m a high school senior. Over the last two years, I’ve built a very successful lawn care business in my neighborhood that filled up my entire summer this year. I will make about $35K this year and I can make a lot more once …

Categories: Entrepreneurship

The Entrepreneurial Drive (Or Lack Thereof)

Whenever I write a post about careers, I usually receive a few comments or emails from readers who are heavily involved in entrepreneurship, chiding me for writing an article that wastes people’s time. “I’m an entrepreneur, and such articles are a waste of time,” they’ll say. “The only real way to get ahead is to …

Review: Young Bucks

Each Friday, The Simple Dollar reviews a personal finance book of interest. Writing about kids and money is a fairly sticky topic. I’ve read several books on the topic and only bothered to review a few on here. The best one I had read so far, David Owen’s First National Bank of Dad, was really …

Review: Honey, I Want to Start My Own Business

Each Sunday, The Simple Dollar reviews a personal productivity, personal development, or business/entrepreneurship book of interest. When I look at my life, it becomes quite clear to me that if I ever wanted to start a small business (and, no, I don’t quite consider my solo writing gig to be a small business, although big …

Review: Seven Years to Seven Figures

Each Sunday, The Simple Dollar reviews a personal productivity, personal development, or business/entrepreneurship book of interest. I like Michael Masterson’s books. In the past, I’ve given high marks to three of his works: Automatic Wealth, Automatic Wealth for Grads, and Ready, Fire, Aim. Because of my enjoyment of his other books, I decided to look …

Review: Ready, Fire, Aim

Each Sunday, The Simple Dollar reviews a personal productivity, personal development, or business/entrepreneurship book of interest. One topic that doesn’t get nearly enough coverage on The Simple Dollar (or on other blogs as well) is entrepreneurship – the transformation of an idea and a passion into a full-fledged business. It can be a splendid way …

My Entrepreneurial Inspiration

Since quitting my “real” job to become a full-time writer, I’ve heard many rather negative comments from friends and family who seem absolutely shocked that I’d quit a stable, solid-paying full time job to hide in my home office every day. The comments went all over the place, ranging from a general idea that I …

Categories: Entrepreneurship