The Latest

Review: Rich Like Them

Every other Sunday, The Simple Dollar reviews a personal finance book. Rich Like Them by Ryan D’Agostino follows in the tradition of The Millionaire Next Door and The Difference: it interviews a large group of millionaires in order to figure out what traits they have in common. Rich Like Them takes this tactic and runs …

Major Purchases and Your Specific Life Situation

When I turned sixteen, I had roughly $1,000 saved up with which to buy a car. Obviously, my biggest concern was what is the cheapest thing that can get me on the road? Reliability wasn’t a concern at all – I mostly wanted it to drive back and forth to school and to some extracurricular …

Categories: Frugality, Shopping

The Tightwad Gazette’s “Flexible Casserole Recipe”

Although I love cooking interesting and complex meals for my family, the reality of life is that many nights, the time for meal preparation is sandwiched tightly between my work, my son’s soccer game, a community meeting, a promise to draw pictures with my daughter, and a pretty firm eight o’clock bedtime. The easy solution …

Categories: Frugality, Meals

Seven Steps Towards Minimizing Your Junk Mail and Unwanted Calls

One big disadvantage of bargain hunting, being politically active, and researching personal finance products is that I often end up o a lot of mailing lists and calling lists. And they’re distracting. Sometimes, I’ll get multiple phone calls a day related to causes that I’m not interested in, and I’ll see items and catalogues in …

Categories: Getting Started

Health and Money: The Power of Independent Steps

Several months ago, I visited my doctor during the process of figuring out an illness that was sapping a lot of my energy. One of the first things he did was to order a general blood panel, just to see if one of several common things popped up. While we never did figure out the …

Playground Equipment: An Example of Sharing Resources with Neighbors

After reading my recent article about cooperating with your neighbors to share resources, my always-sharp wife Sarah made a great point. “You know, we have a perfect example of this at work out in our yard right now.” And she’s right. Here’s a picture of it. The play equipment above sits exactly on the property …

Some Thoughts on Haggling

A very kind reader recently sent me a link to a fascinating article at Salon.com entitled How I Learned to Haggle. The article outlines a woman’s experience with haggling, culminating with the author actually requesting a discount at a dollar store: So before I can think too hard about it, I drive to my kids’ …

The Simple Dollar Weekly Roundup: Food Blog Edition

A few weeks ago, I posted a list of the personal finance and personal development blogs I read. Several readers were quite surprised to find that I didn’t actually list any food blogs, since I’m pretty passionate about cooking at home. So, this week, for a change of pace, I thought I’d highlight some excellent …

Categories: Books and Reading

Letting Go: How Being a Control Freak Costs You Money

I’m something of a planner. I can’t help it – I always like to make plans for the future. I fill up my calendar with all sorts of little details and I’m always making lists. My mother does the same thing, actually. She’s constantly making lists and jotting down notes. She’s always been the person …

The Reliability Bell Curve

In a recent post about up front spending, quite a few people mentioned their anecdotes about buying a cheap washing machine and having it last for many years – and then used that as a justification to ignore reliability data when making a purchase and instead go for the cheap item. Let’s explore that idea …

Categories: Shopping

Become a subscriber of The Simple Dollar and get a free copy of Trent's e-book today plus exclusive updates.