Best 5 Car Insurance Companies in Florida 2019

Advertiser Disclosure

The combination of Florida’s no-fault insurance laws, subtropical weather and high percentage of elderly drivers make it the fourth most expensive state for car insurance. And while most residents end up paying almost $50 more than the national average every month, there are hundreds of dollars in potential savings just waiting to be found. All it takes is a bit of comparison shopping to find the best car insurance option for you.

Find the Best Car Insurance

Enter your ZIP code below and be sure to click at least 2-3 companies to find the very best rate.

You can save money every year just by picking the right insurance company. Getting car insurance quotes is an extremely customized process, and there is no single company that is the best fit for everyone. The factors that influence how much car insurance companies will charge you include your age, marital status, driving history and even ZIP code. Each insurer weighs those factors differently. The best strategy for finding cheap car insurance will always be to compare quotes.

Our Top 5 Picks for the Best Car Insurance in Florida

Statistics show that the average driver has an accident every 18 years. When an accident does happen, poor customer service from the insurance agency only makes things worse. Any insurance company worth recommending should have a proven track record of great service and financial stability. These insurers have the highest J.D. Power ratings in Florida and an A.M. Best rating of excellent or better. J.D. Power is a global leader in customer service surveys and A.M. Best evaluates companies’ financial solvency.

When comparing quotes, there is an astounding $832 range for the exact same coverage. Progressive and Metlife were the two best options at $890 and $1,370 respectively, and Allstate quoted a whopping $1,722. This means that you could save by switching from another provider to Progressive and Metlife; this is money that you could invest in better coverage.

Florida’s Minimum Coverage Requirements for 2019

Florida requires $10,000 personal injury protection and $10,000 property damage liability coverage in order to maintain a valid license plate. That’s a shockingly low amount of coverage; it’s easy to imagine even a very minor accident causing more than $10,000 in property damage.

FAQs

Why is Florida car insurance so expensive?

Florida’s rates are among the highest in the nation for several reasons, but primarily because it’s a no-fault state. Residents are required to pay their own expenses after an accident, and they need to maintain personal injury protection, or PIP. Many Floridians are also covered for accident-related medical expenses through their health insurance, so many residents will be paying for the same thing twice.

The state’s no-fault car insurance plan has been in effect since 1972 and was intended to reduce lawsuits. However, the number of legitimate and fraudulent PIP claims began skyrocketing in 2008 and continues to rise. State bills have been introduced to repeal the no-fault system, so far to no avail. If it is repealed, Florida drivers’ insurance rates could drop. But that remains a big “if.”

Aside from no-fault insurance, Florida is the nation’s leader in careless driving accidents and logs more fatal crashes than any other state, with the exceptions of Texas and California. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, Florida had almost 15 vehicle fatalities per 100,000 population in 2017, while the U.S. number was 11.4 fatalities. Considering that statistic and Florida’s dense population, it’s easy to see why rates there are pricier.

What if you’re not a full-time resident?

If you’re traveling to Florida for business or for an extended vacation, or if you’re there and driving more than 90 days within a 365-day period, you need to purchase minimum car insurance coverage. If you’re a part-time resident with valid Florida license plates and registration, you must be covered by a Florida insurance policy — and not just while you’re living in the state.

Should you get more than the minimum coverage?

Yes, absolutely. The minimum for collision in Florida is $10,000, and it’s been that way since the 1980s. Back then, you could replace a car for that cost. Nowadays, it takes a lot more money to replace one vehicle that’s been in an accident.

Think about it this way: Statistically, the average driver has an accident every 17.9 years, and the average medical cost of an accident that permanently injures someone is $93,800, according to the National Safety Council, and that’s not including property damages. If you wreck an expensive car or injure multiple people, damages could easily skyrocket from there.

Let’s say you get in a wreck with someone who maintains minimum coverage, and you permanently injured that person to the tune of $60,000 (a low estimate, by the way). The victim could take you to court and you might wind up being responsible for $40,000 out of pocket. With the upgraded coverage, you’re responsible for $10,000 if the worst happens. It still isn’t a good situation, but it’s much better than a $40,000 judgment.

You should also consider adding underinsured and uninsured motorist coverage. More than a quarter (26.7 percent) of Florida’s drivers are uninsured, the highest rate in the nation, according to the Insurance Research Council.

What is the difference between collision and comprehensive coverage?

If you’re trying to decide whether to get collision or comprehensive coverage, or both, you need to know the difference. Collision coverage will kick in if you hit an object, such as a guardrail or a tree, or if your car hits another vehicle. Collision coverage also is useful if you have a rollover or incur damage as a result of driving into a pothole.

Comprehensive coverage kicks in if your car is vandalized, stolen, damaged because of a natural disaster or an object falling on it, or if your car hits an animal.

What if you don’t have any insurance?

If you’re caught without insurance or you are underinsured, your driving privileges will be suspended for up to three years. To get your license reinstated, you’ll need to cough up $150 (up to $500 for subsequent violations) and provide proof of valid insurance. The long-term repercussions, however, include a tainted driving record, higher premiums and possibly even jail time, especially if you are involved in an accident without being insured.

Do you need SR-22 insurance?

Technically, SR-22 is not a type of insurance. If you have ever had a car accident while uninsured, been cited for driving under the influence, or you get a lot of traffic tickets in a short period of time, you may be required to file for SR-22 insurance.

You can pick up SR-22 insurance through your regular policy provider, who will simply file the paperwork in order to make you compliant. SR-22 insurance is much more expensive than regular car insurance. Once your violations drop off your record, you will be able to quit using the SR-22 policy.

Find the Best Car Insurance

Enter your ZIP code below and be sure to click at least 2-3 companies to find the very best rate.

Shop Around for the Best Deal

Many car insurance companies don’t calculate premiums based on your level of risk alone; they also consider how likely you are to shop around for better rates and how much of an increase you’re comfortable paying. It’s a common practice called price optimization. According to a study by Earnix, 45 percent of large insurance companies analyze your personal data (credit score, online shopping habits, social media activity) with a proprietary algorithm that decides how likely you are to look for better deals. That allows providers to charge you just enough to maximize profit but also to keep you from raising an eyebrow.

In sum, customer loyalty is being rewarded with gradual rate increases that are often masked by less valuable “good driver” discounts. Who wants a company like that?

Shopping for a new policy with other car insurance companies every one to two years is a great way to make sure that insurers will offer competitive rates that reflect you as a driver, not predictive analytics. Plus, it can help you avoid falling prey to price optimization in the future. Companies can see when you apply for quotes. And the more frequently you do that, the less reliable of a revenue stream you become for your current insurer, who definitely doesn’t want to lose you as a customer.

Florida is one of 15 states that have officially addressed price optimization and its effect on drivers. Moving forward, insurers that have used price optimization are required to submit a filing to eliminate that use.

It can be very expensive to insure a new driver. Whether you have a newly licensed teenager or you got your own driver’s license late in life, a driver with no driving history can be very expensive to insure. Rates dramatically decrease after a new driver turns 20 years old. If you are a new driver or if you have a new driver on your policy, shop around to find a good deal that will include these higher-risk individuals.

One premium discount to look for is for good drivers in your household. These individuals have clean driving records — that means no speeding tickets, accidents or other infractions — and their skill on the road can translate to your savings.

However, if you have bad credit, meaning that your credit score is in the 580 to 669 range, you will likely pay more for your car insurance than most drivers on the road. This is because drivers with poor credit, on average, get higher insurance payouts for claims than those with good credit. As with new drivers, you need to look for ways to save, such as with a good driver discount or by bundling car and home policies. You should also keep in mind the value of your vehicle. For example, if your car is old, you don’t want to waste your money on collision and comprehensive coverage for a vehicle that isn’t worth much.

Best Car Insurance in Florida

  • Progressive
  • MetLife
  • State Farm
  • Allstate
  • Geico

Because accidents do happen, you should consider getting more than the minimum state coverage. Buying more than the minimum can be less expensive than you think. So, head on out there and get some quotes; it’s the only way to find the best car insurance for you. It doesn’t take long at all. You could wind up saving almost $1,000 a year.

Find the Best Car Insurance

Enter your ZIP code below and be sure to click at least 2-3 companies to find the very best rate.