Best 5 Car Insurance Companies in Kansas 2021

Kansas is a primarily rural state with a decent amount of competition in the car insurance space. That’s a good thing for residents because the state’s average premium falls slightly below the national average at $105 a month. After getting quotes from five different companies, it’s clear that many folks are probably paying more than they have to. Quotes ranged from $954 to $1,912 annually for the same coverage.

Compare Affordable Car Insurance Rates in Kansas

Save money on auto coverage with our simple comparison tool.

Matching you with providers.
We found results in
Click at least 2-3 companies to find the very best rate.

    Powered by (NPN: 8781838)

    In this article

      After comparing different insurers’ rates, State Farm was the cheapest car insurance option, thanks to its offer of $954 a year. But there’s no guarantee that it’ll be the best company for you. Each insurer decides your premium based on many different factors, including your age, marital status, location, driving record and other personal data. All of those things boil down to your overall risk profile, but each company puts more stock in some factors than others. There’s no way to predict what you’ll be quoted, so you need to go through the quote process yourself. And the more quotes you get, the more savings you might find.

      Overall, getting a quote takes only 10 minutes of your time, as long as you have the proper information handy. Basic personal information, such as your age and address, will be required, as well as the year, make and model of your car, and its vehicle identification number, usually called the VIN number. Make sure you also have the details of any accidents or citations on your record from the past few years.

      Our Top 5 Picks for the Best Cheap Car Insurance in Kansas

      This search for the best car insurers began with five companies, all of which have incredibly high financial and customer service ratings.

      No one wants to ever use their insurance, but we all know that at some point it is inevitable. That’s why it’s important to be able to depend on the company you’ve chosen. The top two factors when considering dependability are customer service and financial stability, so all the companies in this analysis were the top-rated companies by J.D. Power in the area, and they were cross-checked with A.M. Best. (J.D. Power is a global leader in reporting customer satisfaction, and A.M. Best is a company that does extensive research on insurance companies and their financial solvency.) This means that every company in the comparisons is likely to provide good customer service during the claims process and be able to pay claims.

      State Farm was the best auto insurance option in this example at $954 a year, while Allstate came in as a close second at $1,024. Auto-Owners Insurance ended up being the most expensive at $1,912 a year. It would make sense to choose either State Farm with the cheapest price, or Allstate because of its website and ease of use.

      Kansas’ Minimum Coverage Requirements for 2021

      Kansas law requires drivers to purchase liability insurance in the amounts of $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident, and $10,000 for property damage, or what insurers would call 25/50/10. Drivers also must pay $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident to protect themselves from uninsured or underinsured drivers.

      Kansas is a no-fault insurance state, which means that your own insurance pays for personal injury, regardless of who was at fault in the accident and up to the limits in each driver’s personal injury protection (PIP) insurance. Once the PIP limits are exceeded, a liability claim or lawsuit can be filed. Keep in mind that PIP insurance covers only personal injury, not property damage. PIP insurance is required in the following amounts:

      • $4,500 per person for medical expenses
      • $900 per month for one year for disability or loss of income
      • $25 per day for in-home medical services
      • $2,000 dollars for funeral, burial, or cremation services
      • $4,500 dollars for rehabilitation expenses.

      While getting the cheapest coverage may seem like a good way to save money, you could end up worse off in the long run. It’s always best to get additional coverage. Here’s why:

      • On average, drivers have accidents every 17.9 years.
      • The average cost of permanently injuring someone in an accident is $93,800, but that’s only for one person. If you injure multiple people, the cost escalates.
      • It would cost $954 for the most basic, cheap car insurance ($25,000/$50,000). Upgrading to a better policy ($100,000/$300,000) would cost $1,140, which is only $186 more a year.

      To put it in perspective, imagine if you got into a wreck and severely injured several people. The cost could easily be in the $175,000 range. If you have the state-required minimum insurance of $50,000 per accident, you could be sued for $125,000. But if you have the better coverage of $300,000 per accident, then your insurance would cover the costs completely. What’s better is that in the 18 years between accidents (according to the stats), you would have paid only $1,933 for the extra coverage that could save you over $100,000.

      You may want collision and comprehensive coverage due to the danger of hitting a deer or other animal in Kansas. Kansas is No. 19 out of 50 states for the likelihood of vehicle-animal collisions.

      Kansas residents caught driving without insurance will be penalized. First, drivers must file a form SR-22, which verifies that the offender’s insurance does not lapse for a consecutive 12-month period. During that period, if the driver’s insurance coverage lapses, their license is suspended. If that happens, the driver’s consecutive 12-month period will restart, and the driver must pay a license reinstatement fee of $100 or $300 (depending on the number of previous suspensions).

      Second, drivers will be fined between $300 and $1,000 for the first offense and between $800 and $2,500 for the second and subsequent offenses. Third, and most serious, is that being convicted of driving without proper insurance will likely result in a three-year license suspension. As you can see, it’s definitely not worth it to drive without proper insurance.

      There are many factors that affect how much you pay for your premium that you can’t change — factors like your age (being over 25 really helps), your gender and your driving history. However, there are steps you can take to save yourself money on your premium. Taking a defensive driver course is a great way to start.

      Kansas Car Insurance FAQs

      Despite the fact that Kansas is a relatively rural state, the amount of PIP required by the state because of its no-fault policy makes drivers more expensive to insure. In the end, you’re left with a state that sits about $150 a year below the national average.

      Unless you are a full-time student with nine or more credits or are on active duty with the military, you must register and insure your car within 90 days of establishing residency in Kansas. If you’re a driver but don’t own a car, these are some of the best non-owner car insurance options you’ll find. In Kansas, there aren’t specific rules regarding people who are part-time residents of the state, but what’s implied is that you must have a valid insurance policy with the state minimum requirements if you are in an accident or your driving privileges in Kansas will be revoked.

      No-fault insurance puts the responsibility for injuries on the insurance company of each driver. So, if you get hurt in a car accident, it doesn’t matter who is at fault, your insurance company will cover it. Kansas is one of the no-fault states.

      If you your license is suspended for reckless driving or driving under the influence, an SR-22 certificate is required to have it reinstated. This declaration shows that you have insurance in place and that the company is aware that you have moved to the high-risk category.

      Even If You’re Happy, It’s Best to Shop for a New Policy Every Couple of Years

      When calculating how much to charge you for your premium, insurance companies don’t just look at your risk — they consider how likely you are to remain loyal. According to Earnix, 45 percent of large insurers utilize a technique called “price optimization.” After analyzing a ton of your personal data (including how long you have been with your insurance company, online shopping habits, and even social media), they estimate how resistant you will be to gradual increases in your premium. Basically, they use statistics to squeeze every penny out of you possible without losing your business.

      The best thing you can do to prevent this is to shop for a new policy every couple of years. Even if you don’t switch companies, simply getting a quote will demonstrate to their fancy algorithms that you are serious about not overpaying for car insurance. Not only will this help you score rates that reflect your risk profile, it will also keep you from getting marked as a sucker who’s willing to pay gradual rate increases.

      Ultimately, shopping around benefits every driver. If you are a good driver, companies will want to reward you with enticements. If you are a young driver, shopping around will lower your rates more quickly as you move out of risk categories. If you have bad credit, you will get rewarded as you raise your credit score.

      Finding cheap auto insurance that you can count on doesn’t have to be a difficult process. The best way to go about it is to gather quotes from a bunch of different providers and compare them. This quote comparison showed almost $1,000 in savings in Kansas, but you might be able to uncover even more.